Winners of IPL left to right (Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Chennai Super Kings, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians)
Winners of IPL left to right (Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Chennai Super Kings, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians)

League matches are done, Qualifier & Eliminators have been concluded and the ninth edition of IPL is all set to witness the grand finale between three-time finalists Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and first time finalists Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), if you do not count them as Deccan Chargers (DC). When one thinks of IPL’s this season and compares it to earlier editions, it can be easily said that the previous ones were much more entertaining and filled with enthusiasm among fans all around. Sadly, this season was drab, after the conclusion of back –to – back T20 tournaments. Despite all this lethargy, there were certain moments that grabbed the eyeballs of viewers’. Full Cricket Scorecard: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2016 Final

In this year’s IPL final one will witness different skippers taking the center stage unlike the customary MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir or Rohit Sharma who we have been wwatching over past many years. It could very be the start of Kohli and Warner era in the middle. As the final approaches lets look back at the winners from previous 8 editions of IPL:

1) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR), 2008: It was MS Dhoni and Shane Warne who pitted against each other in a bid to lift the inaugural IPL trophy. CSK started off their campaign on high note and ended up on top half of the points table with 16 points while, RR despite beginning with defeat, were table topper with 22 points. The semi-final of inaugural edition witnessed RR defeating DD and CSK beating Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). Ultimately, it was Warne’s team lifting the prestigious IPL Trophy. Also in the process became the first Australian to do so in IPL. 

(Winner – Rajasthan Royals)

2) Deccan Chargers (DC) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), 2009: It was the year for DC, led by Adam Gilchrist. RCB had an edge over DC with 16 points while DC were below them with 14. DC faced DD in semi-final, with latter setting target of 153 for 8 and DC reaching the target with ease. RCB won against CSK disabling to them to reach the final for second time. In the final, DC were put to bat first managed only 143 runs for the loss of 6. While RCN chased down an achievable total it was left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha whose three-for helped DC lift IPL Trophy for first time. Reminder this edition took place in South Africa due to ongoing general election in India. This was the the first time a  Australian helped win the title for second time.

(Winner- Deccan Chargers)

3) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs Mumbai Indians (MI), 2010: It was time for new venues, new rules and regulations to make way in third edition. Once again Dhoni led team were back as second time finalists with MI making their way to finals of IPL for the first time, skippered by India’s batting legend Sachin Tendulkar. MI were off to a flying campaign as they ended up winning 10 matches out of 14 while CSK had a fifty-fifty record in the league stages. MI won against RCB to reach the final while CSK won against DC to earn the final spot for second time around. It was CSK who were put to bat first, putting up competitive total on board with 168 runs to play with. Thanks to Suresh Raina’s unbeaten knock of 57 that helped them build such an imposing score. As for MI it was just one man show, as skipper Tendulkar made a valiant 48, leaving CSK to win their first ever IPL trophy with ease.

(Winner- Chennai Super Kings)

4) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), 2011: This edition saw entry of two new teams— Kochi Tuskers and Pune Warriors. CSK and RCB had equal records leading past the group stage — 9 wins off 14 matches. These teams came up against each other in the playoffs with CSK winning the game by 6 wickets. Surprisingly, it was repeated once again at the final with CSK chasing their second title. CSK won the toss elected to bat first, posting humongous total of 205 with the help of Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay’s knocks of 63 and 95 respectively. The CSK show continued with Ravichandran Ashwin scalping 3 for 16 in his quota of 4 overs. It was a cake walk for CSK after that. ALSO READ: RCB vs SRH , IPL 2016 Final: Predictions and Preview

(Winner – Chennai Super Kings)

5) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK), 2012: With Kochi Tuskers being terminated from IPL there was much controversy surrounding the tournament. It was clearly KKR’s year, they started from winning 10 out their 14 group matches while CSK had just 9 wins to their name in the group matches. KKR defeated DD to go straight into the final for the very first time while CSK won both  the Eliminator as well as Qualifier 2 against MI and DD respectively. Despite, Michael Hussey and Raina’s good show with the bat it was KKR’s Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis who chased down an imposing total of 190 runs, helping KKR achieve their first ever IPL title.

(Winner – Kolkata Knight Riders)

6) Mumbai Indians (MI) vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK), 2013: Both these teams were hot favorites coming into this edition. In the group stages, MI had won both the games against CSK, led by Rohit Sharma. It was Pollard’s heroics that were being raved about prior to final. In the Playoff stage, CSK faced MI once again this time CSK avenged their earlier defeats landing them straight to final for third time. MI booked their place in the final via a close win against RR in the Qualifier 2. It was Pollard again who marveled and lead MI a sub-par total of 148. MI were able to defend the target, with CSK tumbling to 125 , handing Sharma and co their maiden win.

(Winner- Mumbai Indians)

7) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) vs Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), 2014: With back to eight teams as original planned, KKR had a mixed road to the final, their second. Making a huge jump from being regular wooden spooner’s KXIP rose to brilliance. KXIP were at the top of the table with 22 points while KKR where just below them with 18. The final was enthralling and thrilling with runs being scored at rate of knots. KXIP put up huge total of 199 thanks to Wriddhiman Saha’s unbeaten knock of 115. KKR in reply managed to chase down the total thus handing them their second IPL title.

(Winner- Kolkata Knight Riders)

8) Mumbai Indians (MI) vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK): This was the last time one saw CSK playing the IPL before being handed a ban for two years from 2016-2018. CSK coming into the finals had an upper-hand over MI in group matches with 18 points while MI had 16 points to their name. In the Qualifier 1 MI beat CSK by 25 runs with history repeating itself once again as MI defeated CSK to achieve their second win. Lendl Simmons and Rohit Sharma were the backbone of this final for MI, helping them win the trophy.

(Winner – Mumbai Indians)

(Shruti Hariharan is a Content Writer with CricketCountry. You can follow her on Twitter at @Shruti_2890)