Angelo Mathews © IANS
Angelo Mathews exults in joy after completing his maiden ODI century in the final match against India © IANS

Angelo Mathews and Virat Kohli both scored exactly 139 not out in the fifth One-Day International (ODI) of the series between India and Sri Lanka at Ranchi. Bharath Seervi lists highest identical scores in ODIs.

Angelo Mathews scored an unbeaten 139 to set a target of 287 for India in the fifth ODI at Ranchi. This was his maiden century in his 116th ODI innings after scoring 24 fifties. In response India lost both openers quickly, but the Virat Kohli looked determined on the crease. He completed his half-century and then the century; it was his 21st in ODI hundred and finished the match with a six to seal the series by 5-0. He also finished with an unbeaten 139.

Both the captains –Mathews and Kohli – had identical scores of 139 not out. It was the highest identical score by two players in an ODI as well as for captains. It was also the third time the opposing captains scored 100s in the hundreds ODI. The previous highest identical score by two players in an ODI was 125 by Graeme Smith and AB de Villiers for South Africa against Sri Lanka at Johannesburg on January 22, 2012.

Highest identical scores by two players in an ODI

Overall, this was the 10th occasion of identical scores in excess of hundred by two players in an ODI and the first such case between the opposing captains. The table below lists those 10 occasions.

Score Batsman 1 Batsman 2 Venue Date Winner
139 Angelo Mathews Virat Kohli Ranchi November 16, 2014 India
125 Graeme Smith AB de Villiers Johannesburg January 22, 2012 Sri Lanka
116 Shane Watson Kamran Akmal Abu Dhabi May 3, 2009 Pakistan
107 AB de Villiers Tatenda Taibu Harare August 26, 2007 South Africa
106 Paul Collingwood Stephen Fleming Brisbane February 6, 2007 England
103 Gautam Gambhir Rahul Dravid Ahmedabad November 6, 2005 Sri Lanka
102 Arjuna Ranatunga Saleem Elahi Gujranwala September 29, 1995 Pakistan
102 Mark Waugh Brian Lara Brisbane January 5, 1997 West Indies
102 Hashim Amla AB de Villiers North Sound May 22, 2010 South Africa
100 Martin Crowe David Boon Auckland February 22, 1992 New Zealand

–    Out of the 10 occasions above, only three happened in the same innings for a team: 125 by Smith and de Villiers, 103 by Gautam Gambhir and Rahul Dravid, and 102 by Hashim Amla and de Villiers.

–    The previous highest identical score by opposing captains was 50 by the skippers Alastair Cook and MS Dhoni at Cardiff in 2011.

–    The highest identical score by the opposing wicket-keepers in an ODI is 106 by de Villiers and Tatenda Taibu at Harare in 2007 (mentioned in the table above).

Bonus trivia (for Tests):

–    The highest identical score by two batsmen in a Test match is 234 by Sid Barnes and Don Bradman against England at Sydney in 1946.

–    The highest identical score by two captains in a Test match is 101 by Misbah-ul-Haq (this is a bit of cheating, since he scored 101 in each innings). The only other identical hundred-plus score by two captains is 100 by Mike Gatting and Allan Border at Adelaide in 1986.

–    The highest identical score by two wicket-keepers in a Test match is 79 by Matt Prior and Prasanna Jayawardene at Colombo (SSC) in 2007.

(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at He can be followed on Twitter at and on Facebook at