Virat Kohli becomes fastest Indian to score century in ODIs

Virat Kohli scored a century in 52 balls © PTI

By Sarang Bhalerao

Virat Kohli has added another feather to his illustrious cap scoring a century off only 52 deliveries, thus becoming the fastest Indian to score a One-Day International (ODI) century. This is the seventh fastest century in ODI cricket.

He achieved the feat against Australia in the second ODI at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

Kohli broke Virender Sehwag’s 60-ball century which was scored against New Zealand at Hamilton in 2009. Kohli’s knock at Jaipur was punctuated by eight boundaries and seven sixes.

Here’s the list of fastest centurions in ODIs

Batsman Opponents Balls Venue Year
1 Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) Sri Lanka 37 Nairobi 1996
2 Mark Boucher (South Africa) Zimbabwe 44 Potchefstroom 2006
3 Brian Lara (West Indies) Bangladesh 45 Dhaka 1999
4 Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) India 45 Kanpur 2005
5 Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) Pakistan 48 Singapore 1996
6 Kevin O’Brien (Ireland) England 50 Bangalore 2011
7 Virat Kohli (India) Australia 52 Jaipur 2013

 *record updated upto the completion of India vs Australia game at Jaipur on October 16, 2013.

Here’s the list of fastest centuries in ODIs by Indians

Batsman Opponents Balls Venue Year
1 Virat Kohli Australia 52 Jaipur 2013
2 Virender Sehwag New Zealand 60 Hamilton 2009
3 Mohammad Azharuddin New Zealand 62 Baroda 1988
4 Yuvraj Singh England 64 Rajkot 2008
5 Suresh Raina Hong Kong 66 Karachi 2008
6 Virender Sehwag Sri Lanka 66 Rajkot 2009
7 Yusuf Pathan South Africa 68 Centurion 2010
8 Virender Sehwag West Indies 69 Indore 2011

(Sarang Bhalerao hails from a family of doctors, but did his engineering. He then dumped a career in IT with Infosys to follow his heart and passion and became a writer with CricketCountry. A voracious reader, Sarang aspires to beat Google with his knowledge of the game! You can follow him on Twitter here)