Steve Smith wins Allan Border Medal; wins ODI and Test Cricketer of the Year

Australian cricketer Steve Smith won all the three prestigious awards at the Allan Border Medals Award ceremony in Sydney on Tuesday.

The stand-in Test skipper won the ODI Cricketer of the year award, along with the Test Cricketer of the year award and finally, the Allan Border Medal.

The Allan Border Medal named after former Australian legendary cricketer Allan Border is the most prestigious individual award for Australian cricketer. It was first awarded in the year 2000; it recognizes Australia’s best player in the past season voted by other cricketers, umpires and media.

The award categories are as follows:

Test player of the year

One-Day International (ODI) player of the year

Twenty20 (T20) player of the year

Bradman Young cricketer of the year

State player of the year

Women’s International cricketer of the year (The Belinda Clark Award)

The award night also inducts the new members of the Australian Hall of Fame.

Last year, Mitchell Johnson won the Allan Border Medal. Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke has won the medal four times each.

Catch the LIVE STREAMING of the Allan Border Medal night.




Australian coach Darren Lehmann presents the Twenty20 Player of the year to Glenn Maxwell

Maxwell says he is disappointed with the way Australia performed  in the World Twenty20 in 2014   Jason Behrendorff wins the best domestic player of the year award.   

Two new members will be inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame and they are Adam Gilchrist and Jack Ryder.

Former cricketers pay tribute to Adam Gilchrist’s glorious career.

Gilchrist delivers a moving speech. He thanks his family and others who have helped him during the journey. He also speaks about his father Stan Gilchrist winning the Order of Australia on Australia Day for his contribution to the game and community. He tells the current lot of cricketers that “they inspire” and people look up to them.

Matthew Hayden will handover the Test player of the year award. Hayden praises Gilchrist and his contribution to the game. The four contenders are: Mitchell Johnson, Steve Smith, Nathan Lyon, and David Warner. Steve Smith wins it