Australia announce their World T20 squad, Steve Smith appointed skipper
Steven Smith will lead the Australian side in the World T20 Steven Smith © Getty Images

Australia have announced their 15-man squad for the ICC World T20 in which they have named Steve Smith as captain. The tournament is scheduled to be played in India next month. The selectors have made some shocking selections into the side as their regular white ball wicket keeper has been kept out and Peter Nevill has been roped into the side by  them.

Australia have also got Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar and Nathan Coulter-Nile which came as a surprise to many. Usman Khawaja has also sculpted a spot into the side on the basis of his magnificent run in the Big Bash League. Some ning bobbling exclusions include Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Kane Richardson, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait and Nathan Lyon who had an awful time in the Twenty20 International (T20I) series against Australia.

On Smith being elected as the skipper of the side, National selector Rod Marsh was quoted in a report from cricket, saying, “Aaron Finch has done a very good job captaining Australia in T20 cricket. He will have benefited enormously from the leadership opportunity and will remain a highly-respected leader within the Australian squad. However since he became T20 captain, there has been a broader leadership transition in Test and one-day international cricket with Michael Clarke retiring and Steve Smith assuming the captaincy in Test and one-day cricket. We think now is the right time for Steve to lead Australia in all three forms of the game as it offers us important continuity, not only ahead of the World T20, but beyond that tournament as well.”

Nevill has hardly been impressive in T20 format with a mere average of 15.75 and strike rate of almost run a ball. His effective wicketkeeping skills is what saw him getting into the side. Wade’s lack of form saw him getting axed from the national side. Nevill is yet to play an international shorter format game for Australia.

On Nevill’s inclsuion Marsh said, “We feel our batting depth in this squad is sufficient enough that we can have a specialist wicket-keeper in the squad. We want Australia’s best wicketkeeper playing in this tournament and we consider Peter Nevill to be the best in the country right now.”

AUSTRALIA’S WORLD T20 SQUAD: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill, Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Adam Zampa.