Delhi Dragons beat Pune Anmol Ratn to win Box Cricket League 2014

The drama-laced Box Cricket League 2014 (BCL) came to an exciting end in Mumbai on Thursday, when Delhi Dragons defeated Pune Anmol Ratn to win the final by 10 wickets.

Pune Anmol Ratn chose to bat first after winning the toss but could only manage 121 for the loss of nine wickets in 10 overs. Suyyash Rai-led Delhi Dragons dominated the whole proceedings with their exceptional bowling and fielding.

Sahil Anand (48), Behzad Khan (30) and captain Shaleen Malhotra (14) were the only players from the Pune team to score in double digits with the rest not opening their accounts.

The competitive Delhi team consisting of skilled players like Rithvik Dhanjani, Suyyash Rai, Karan Wahi and Priya Wal played extremely well throughout the match. The Delhi openers, all-rounder Aadesh Chaudhary and Karan Wahi, smashed unbeaten half-centuries to lift the BCL 2014 trophy with three overs to spare.

Chaudhary was awarded the ‘Man of the series’ and Aaditi Gupta of the Chandigarh team received the ‘Woman of the series’ award.

Brief scores:

Pune Anmol Ratn 121 for nine in 10 overs lost to Delhi Dragons 123 for no loss in seven overs by 10 wickets.