IPL 2015: Delhi Daredevils beat Mumbai Indians by 37 runs at Delhi, Stars and flops

Mumbai Indians (MI) suffered their fifth defeat in the eighth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Delhi Daredevils (DD) put up a dominant show and finally broke their home jinx.

Winning the toss, MI elected to field first and started well as Mayank Agarwal was dismissed in the third ball of the innings but from thereon, it was no stopping DD. Young Shreyas Iyer added 156 with skipper JP Duminy and the partnership came off just 97 balls. It laid the base for a huge total as DD put up 190 on the board.

MI began promisingly but kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Chasing a big total, there were no big partnerships and in fact, no batsmen crossed the 30-run barrier. For DD, it was again the deadly spin of Imran Tahir which ensured that MI had absolutely no chance. The win took DD to the fourth position in the points table; while MI slumped to the last spot replacing Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Brief scores:

Delhi Daredevils 190 for 4 in 20 overs [Shreyas Iyer 83 (56), JP Duminy 78 (50)*; Mitchell McClenaghan 4-0-38-2, Lasith Malinga 4-0-23-1] bt Mumbai Indians 153 for 9 in 20 overs [Rohit Sharma 30 (24), Ambati Rayudu 30 (22); Angelo Mathews 2-0-15-2, Amit Mishra 4-0-32-2, Imran Tahir 4-0-22-3] by 37 runs