IPL 2015: Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by eight wickets at Bangalore, Stars and flops

After a dismal show by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Chennai, the side delivered a strong performance and beat Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in their den. Finally the SRH bowling lived up to the reputation and bowled out RCB for 166 in 19.5 overs. Sent in to bat, RCB made a strong start with both their openers, Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli, going strong in the first five overs.

Later in the innings, with AB de Villiers looking dangerous, RCB looked set for a total in excess of 180 but fantastic death bowling from Trent Boult and Bhuvneshwar Kumar pulled things in SRH’s favour. The duo resulted picked up five wickets in the last 10 balls of the RCB innings, with Boult picked up three in the 19th over which included the key wicket of de Villiers, while Bhuvneshwar picked up two.

Turning point: In the second ball of the 19th over, Boult got the prized wicket of de Villiers, who miscued one at the sweeper cover. At 46 from 27, he had the ability to take the score in excess of 180. De Villiers wicket resulted in a collapse and RCB lost another four in the next nine balls.

The target of 167 still needed some efforts but SRH skipper David Warner simply exploded at the top. After two overs, the score was 36 and the momentum was built. While Warner was at his attacking best, his partner Shikhar Dhawan played some of most delightful strokes. The duo put on 82 for the first wicket, before Warner was trapped leg-before by Yuzvendra Chahal in the eighth over for 57 from 27 balls. The RCB bowlers bowled poor lengths and later, Dhawan and KL Rahul made full use of it, to steer the side to a successful chase in the 18th over. Warner was awarded the man-of-the-match for his explosive start.

Brief scores:

Royal Challengers Bangalore 166 in 19.5 overs [Virat Kohli 41 (37), AB de Villiers 46 (28); Trent Boult 4-0-36-3, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3.5-0-30-2, Ravi Bopara 3-0-31-2, Karn Sharma 4-0-20-1] lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad 172 for two in 17.2 overs [David Warner 57 (27), Shikhar Dhawan 50 (42)*, KL Rahul 44 (28)*; Yuzvendra Chahal 4-0-28-2] by eighth wicket