Sehwag, Yuvraj, Harbhajan, Gambhir and Zaheer left out of World Cup probables

India cricket stars Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh and Zaheer Khan were left out for India’s preliminary list of 30 probables for the World Cup 2015, which will be played in Australia and New Zealand.

This means that the defending champions will head for the World Cup with only four surviving members from the previous edition. Captain MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and Ravichandran Ashwin are the only ones left from the squad that won the prestigious tournament in 2011.

The list reflects that the selection committee led by Sandeep Patil, clearly emphasised on youth and form, before they proceeded. The final 15-member squad is likely to be announced by January 7 and the World Cup starts from February 14.

India, led by Dhoni, will open their account against arch-rivals Pakistan on February 15, at Adelaide Oval.

India’s 30-man probables list: MS Dhoni (c), Virat Kohli (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Robin Uthappa, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Manoj Tiwary, Manish Pandey, Wriddhiman Saha, Sanju Samson, R Ashwin, Parvez Rasool, Karn Sharma, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Ashoke Dinda, Kuldeep Yadav and Murali Vijay.