India vs West Indies: Past T20I encounters

India will meet West Indies in the second semi-final match of ICC World T20 2016 on Thursday at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The Caribbean side is the most unpredictable side in the tournament, while Indian cricket team is like an open book, which is highly dependable on Virat Kohli’s batting. On the eve of this pen-ultimate thriller of the tournament, which is going to be played at world’s one of the most batting friendly ground, Abhishek Kumar lists out the past encounters between these two side in this format of the game.

1.  ICC World T20 2009, Super 8 match at Lord’s, London: This was the first encounter between these two sides in World T20 at the iconic Lord’s. The whole match was about Dwayne Bravo as it was his all round performance which led West Indies victory. Batting first, India didn’t have an ideal start as they were four down for 66 runs. Thanks to Yuvraj Singh, who held his nerve and scored a belligerent half-century which helped team India in posting a decent total. In reply, West Indies openers too lost their wickets early in their innings but it was Bravo, who played an excellent knock of 36-ball 66 and won the game for West Indies.


Brief Scores:

West Indies 156 for 3 in 18.4 overs (Dwayne Bravo 66, Lendl Simmons 44; Irfan Pathan 2-0-9-1) bt India 153 for 7 in 20 overs (Yuvraj Singh 67, Yusuf Pathan 31; Dwayne Bravo 4-0-38-4, Fidel Edwards 4-0-24-3) — by 7 wickets.

2.  ICC World T0 2010, Super 8 match at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown: Once again these two teams met at a World T20 stage just like the last time, Indian batsmen failed to perform. This time, India invited West Indies to bat first and then came Gayle storm. Except Harbhajan Singh, Gayle bashed every Indian bowler who bowled to him and plundered 66-ball 98 runs.

With this, West Indies managed to put a defendable total, which Indian team failed to chase because of losing wickets at regular intervals. Except skipper MS Dhoni, no other could touch the 30-run mark.


Brief Scores:

West Indies 169 for 6 in 20 overs (Chris Gayle 98; Ashish Nehra 4-0-35-3) bt India 155 for 9 in 20 overs (MS Dhoni 32, Suresh Raina 29; Kemar Roach 4-0-38-2, Darren Sammy 3-0-16-1) — by 14 runs.

3.  Only T20I at Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad in June 2011: Finally a victory for India against West Indies in this format and this was all because of the all round team performance with both bat and ball. As West Indies invited India to bat first, they managed to post a good total on board with debutant Subramanian Badrinath being the highest scorer for the team. West Indies got off to a poor start and never recovered as every batsmen from their team was struggling to score runs at the required rate and eventually lost the match.


Brief Scores:

India 159 for 6 in 20 overs (S Badrinath 43; Darren Sammy 4-0-16-4) bt West Indies 143 for 5 in 20 overs (Dwayne Bravo 41; Harbhajan Singh 4-0-25-2, Praveen Kumar 4-1-27-1) — by 16 runs.

4.  ICC World T20 2014, Super 10 match at Mirpur: Despite being the defending champions this time, West Indies batted very poorly and this match was all about Indian spin trio — Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra and Ravindra Jadeja. India invited West Indies to bat first and from the beginning, Indian spinners were like nightmares for the Caribbean batsmen but somehow they managed to put a decent total on board. After that, Indian opener Rohit Sharma started hammering West Indies’ bowlers followed by Virat Kohli at the other end. In the end, it was a comfortable victory for India.


Brief Scores:

India 130 for 3 in 19.4 overs (Rohit Sharma 62, Virat Kohli 54; Marlon Samuels 3.4-0-22-1) bt West Indies 129 for 7 in 20 overs (Chris Gayle 34; Ravindra Jadeja 4-0-48-3, Amit Mishra 4-0-18-2) — by 7 wickets.

5.  ICC World T20 2016, Semi-final at Mumbai: For the first time, India and West Indies were playing against each other in the semi final of the tournament. Having the advantage of home venue and with inform Virat Kohli, there were high amount of chances of India’s win but something else was destined to happen.

After winning the toss, Sammy invited India to bat first on a batting friendly track of Wankhede Stadium at Mumbai and Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan was not in good form, skipper Dhoni decided to go with Ajinkya Rahane as an opening batsman with Rohit Sharma. India had a very good start with 62-run partnership for the first wicket. Both the openers scored 40s and further, Kohli took over and then an excellent show of running between the wickets was going on. Both Dhoni and Kohli were easily converting singles to doubles and doubles to triples. Kohli scored 47-ball 89 and India managed to post a good total of 192 on board.

In reply, West Indies didn’t had the expected start as their star opener Chris Gayle got out in the second over followed Samuels in the third over. West Indies were surely under pressure but thanks to Johnson Charles and Simmons, who put up a decent partnership and added 97 runs. From there on, West Indies never lose the string of winning the match and in the end, Andre Russell’s 20-ball 43 run cameo sealed their victory by seven wicket.

Brief Scores:

West Indies 196 for 3 in 19.4 overs (Lendl Simons 82, Johnson Charles 52, Andre Russell 43; Ashish Nehra 4-0-24-1) bt India 192 for 2 in 20 overs (Virat Kohli 89; Samuel Badree 4-0-26-1) — by 7 wickets

India vs West Indies in T20Is: Stat nugget

Most Runs

Lendl Simmons (WI): 162 runs in 4 matches

Virat Kohli (Ind): 157 runs in 3 matches

Highest Scores

Chris Gayle (WI): 98(66) at Bridgetown in 2010

Virat Kohli (Ind): 89 (47) at Mumbai’s in 2016

Most Wickets

Dwayne Bravo (WI): 5 wickets in 4 matches, Darren Sammy: 5 wickets in 4 matches

Ravindra Jadeja (Ind): 4 wickets in 3 matches, Ashish Nehra: 4 wickets in 3 matches

Best Bowling

Darren Sammy (WI): 4-0-16-4 at Port of Spain in 2011

Ashish Nehra: 4-0-35-3 at Bridgetown in 2010

Most Catches

4 by Rohit Sharma

Note: This list was once again updated on August 25, 2016.

(Abhishek Kumar is a cricket devotee currently staffing with He can be followed at abhicricket.kumar and @abhishekkr2593)