Rajeev Shukla assures IPL 9 will feature a minimum of eight teams

The Lodha panel suspended the two Indian Premier League (IPL) giants – Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) from participating in the cricket related activities for the next two years. The chairman of IPL Rajeev  Shukla, however has assured that a minimum of eight teams will feature next year in the cash-rich Indian tournament.

As reported by the PTI, Shukla said, “IPL will be held with a minimum of eight teams. There will be no change in that. How we will proceed will be be recommended by the working group which will have discussions with all the stakeholders like the sponsors, broadcasters, franchisees and state associations.”

It will be interesting to see how the ninth season of the IPL fares and hopefully the purity of the gentlemen’s game will be preserved.


Related stories:

Chennai Super Kings: A Controversial Timeline

Rajasthan Royals: Timeline