Leicester City won their first English Premier League title on Monday © Getty Images
Leicester City won their first English Premier League title on Monday © Getty Images

Leicester City have become the English Premier League 2016 champions. This is their first ever title in the league. Eden Hazard scored a late goal helping Chelsea level their match against Tottenham Hotspur. Leicester City’s triumph is one of the biggest in football history. If we talk of this season, Leicester have 77 points having won 22 matches while losing only three. Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy were the architects of Leicester’s triumph in this season of the league. The duo scored 39 goals in total and also made it to the PFA Player of the Year shortlist. N’Golo Kante was also in the shortlist. Kante’s good work in the midfield helped Vardy on numerous occasions.

Premier League began in 1992 and since its inception only six teams have won the title so far that includes Manchester City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester United, Backburn Rovers and Leicester City. The Premier League is the most-watched football league in the world, broadcast in 212 territories to 643 million homes and a potential TV audience of 4.7 billion people. In the 2014–15 season, the average Premier League match attendance exceeded 36,000, second highest of any professional football league behind the Bundesliga’s 43,500. The Premier League rank second in the UEFA coefficients of leagues based on performances in European competitions over the past five seasons.


Seasons Teams Runners-Up
1992–93 Manchester United Aston Villa
1993–94 Manchester United Blackburn Rovers
1994–95 Blackburn Rovers Manchester United
1995–96 Manchester United Newcastle United
1996–97 Manchester United Newcastle United
1997–98 Arsenal Manchester United
1998–99 Manchester United Arsenal
1999–2000 Manchester United Arsenal
2000–01 Manchester United Arsenal
2001–02 Arsenal Liverpool
2002–03 Manchester United Arsenal
2003–04 Arsenal Chelsea
2004–05 Chelsea Arsenal
2005–06 Chelsea Manchester United
2006–07 Manchester United Chelsea
2007–08 Manchester United Chelsea
2008–09 Manchester United Liverpool
2009–10 Chelsea Manchester United
2010–11 Manchester United Chelsea
2011–12 Manchester City Manchester United
2012–13 Manchester United Manchester City
2013–14 Manchester City Liverpool
2014–15 Chelsea Manchester City
2015–16 Leicester City

Between 1992 to 2013 season, Premier League clubs had won the UEFA Champions League four times after Spain’s La Liga with six wins Italy’s Serie A’s five win. They now go ahead of Germany’s Bundesliga with three wins.