© Getty Images
Austria will play their second Euro Championship  © Getty Images

Introduction: The 15th edition of UEFA Euro Championship will begin in a few days, with the teams Europe battling for supremacy. The tournament will begin on June 10 and will end with the grand final on July 10, in France. As many as 24 teams will be taking part in the tournament, which has Spain as the two-time defending champions.

History: Austria is one team which has not had much success on the global stage as far as football is concerned. Their only significant achievement in the sport was their finish at the third position in the 1954 World Cup, and as far as Euro Championship is concerned, Australia have had a poor record. Their only previous appearance in Euro Championship was in 2008 when they were the co-hosts. For obvious reasons, Austria were knocked out of the competition in the first round itself.

Current form: Despite a poor record, Austria are a force to reckon with. They have won 9 matches on the trot – a record which is quite similar to a team as big as England. They have a terrific defence, a solid goalkeeper and potent strike force to create a few upsets in the tournament.

Players to watch out for: There is Christian Fuchs from Leicester City, who won the English Premier League recently, in the defence, whose presence makes the team a very strong outfit. The goalkeeper Robert Almer is rock-solid, and Austria have two terrific forwards in Marc Janko and David Alaba.

Schedule: Austria are in the Group F of Euro 2016, placed alongside strong teams such as Portugal, Hungary and Iceland. Here is their schedule:

June 14: Austria vs Hungary

June 16: Austria vs Portugal

June 22: Austria vs Iceland


Goalkeepers: Robert Almer (Austria Vienna), Heinz Lindner (Eintracht Frankfurt), Ramazan Oezcan (Ingolstadt).

Defenders: Aleksandar Dragovic (Dynamo Kiev), Christian Fuchs (Leicester), Gyorgy Garics (Darmstadt), Martin Hinteregger (Moenchengladbach), Florian Klein (Stuttgart), Sebastian Prodl (Watford), Markus Suttner (Ingolstadt), Kevin Wimmer (Tottenham).

Midfielders: David Alaba (Bayern Munich), Marko Arnautovic (Stoke), Julian Baumgartlinger (Mainz), Martin Harnik (Stuttgart), Stefan Ilsanker (Leipzig), Jakob Jantscher (Lucerne), Zlatko Junuzovic (Werder Bremen), Marcel Sabitzer (Leipzig), Alessandro Schoepf (Schalke).

Forwards: Lukas Hinterseer (Ingolstadt), Rubin Okotie (1860 Munich), Marc Janko (Basel).

Coach: Marcel Koller