© Getty Images
Germany current FIFA world champion © Getty Images

Introduction: Organised every four years since 1960, the UEFA European Nations Cup – Euro – is all set for the 2016 edition. It is a football competition played between the men’s teams of the members of the Union of European       Football Associations (UEFA). The 2016 UEFA European Championship, or UEFA Euro 2016 as it is famously known, will be the 15th overall edition of the competition. The Euro 2016 will be held in France, starting from June 10 to July 10, 2016. The last two editions of Euro were won by Spain and they will be the defending champions this time around as well.

History: Germany are one of the strongest football teams in Europe, as they have failed to qualify for the two major football tournaments – Euro Championship and the FIFA World Cup – only once in their history. Despite being extremely strong in their game, Germany have won the Euro Championship only twice – in 1972 and in 1996. They also won the Euro Championship in 1980, when they played as West Germany.

Current form: The current world champions, Germany, are not in the greatest of forms. They are going through a rough patch and their coach Joachim Low faces a stiff challenge to improve their fortunes. In the last eight months, Germany have lost to Ireland, England, Slovakia as well as the Euro 2016 hosts France. In the same time span, they only have won their matches against Georgia and Italy. They have lost 4 of their last 7 matches, and the victories that have been hard to come by have not impressed many.

Players to watch out for: Germany carry many of their players who helped them win the FIFA World Cup 2014 in Brazil. There is Mesut Ozil, Sami Khedira, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Tony Kroos, Mario Gotze, Mats Hummels, Manuel Neuer and many more.

Schedule: Germany are in the Group C of Euro 2016, alongside Northern Ireland, Ukraine and Poland. Here are their matches:

June 12: Germany versus Ukraine

June 16: Germany versus Poland

June Germany versus Northern Ireland

The world champions will kick-start their campaign with a tie against Ukraine.

Germany squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona).

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Emre Can (Liverpool), Jonas Hector (FC Cologne), Benedikt Hoewedes (Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Shkodran Mustafi (Valencia), Antonio Ruediger (AS Roma).

Midfielders: Julian Draxler (VfL Wolfsburg), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray), Andre Schurrle (VfL Wolfsburg), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United), Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund).

Forwards: Mario Gomez (Besiktas), Mario Goetze (Bayern Munich), Leroy Sane (Schalke 04)

Coach: Joachim Low.