The limelight will be on Wayne Rooney when England play their first match of the Euro 2016 © Getty Images
The limelight will be on their most experience player, Wayne Rooney, when England play their first match against Russia of Euro 2016 © Getty Images

England are definitely one of the oldest national teams in football; alongside Scotland, whom they played in the world’s first international football match in 1872. England’s home ground is the new Wembley Stadium in London, and is currently managed by Roy Hodgson. Although a part of the United Kingdom, England has always had a representative side in the major football tournaments. However, not in the Olympic Games, as the IOC has always recognised United Kingdom representative sides. England contest in the FIFA World Cup and the UEFA European Championship. England are a one-time FIFA World Cup winner in 1966, when they hosted the finals, and beat West Germany 4–2 in extra time in the final. Their best performance since has been a semi-final appearance in 1990. However, England are yet to win the UEFA European Football Championship, with their best performances being the semi-final appearances at the 1968 and 1996 Championships, the latter of which they hosted.

England is more or less a successful nation at the UEFA European Football Championship, as they finished in the third place in 1968 and reached the semi-final in 1996. England hosted the Euro in 1996 and have since participated in eight UEFA European Championship Finals tournaments. In 2004 and 2012, England managed to reach the quarter-final. However, their worst performance till date is the first-round elimination in 1980, 1988, 1992 and 2000 edition. They did not play in 1960, while they also failed to qualify in 1964, 1972, 1976, 1984, and 2008.

Speaking on their recent performance, England remained unbeaten in the qualifying campaign of the Euro 2016, while they also have managed to lose just a couple of games off the 21 games they have played since the FIFA World Cup 2014 group stage elimination. Thus, their current performance speaks for themselves. Their biggest win in the recent times has come against San Marino, whom they drubbed 6-0 away in September 2015.

Players to watch out for:

Joe Hart (GK): He is indeed one of the best goalkeepers in the world. He plays for Premier League club Manchester City. He has over 100 Premier League clean sheets, and also holds the record for the most Premier League Golden Glove awards (four) as he has amassed more than 50 international caps since his debut in 2008. He made his senior international debut in June 2008, and has since been England’s first-choice goalkeeper, especially after 2010.

Gary Cahill (CB): He is one of the experienced defenders in the side, and plays as a centre-back for Premier League club Chelsea and is also the vice-captain of the England national team. Cahill has over 40 international caps and has represented England in the 2014 FIFA World Cup. He is eligible to play for both England and Republic of Ireland, but chose to play for England. Cahill scored his first international goal against Bulgaria in a UEFA Euro 2012 qualifier.

James Milner (MID): Another experienced lad in the English side, with over 50 appearances. He plays as a winger for Premier League club Liverpool. While he was playing as a central midfielder with Aston Villa, he was also named the PFA Young Player of the Year and was also a part of the PFA Team of the Year for the 2009–10 Premier League season. Nevertheless, following his move to Manchester City, he is more often utilised as a winger.

Wayne Rooney (FW): One of the biggest and prized player in the world, he is also the most experienced lad in the English side, with over 100 appearances, and scoring about 52 goals. He plays for and captains both Manchester United and the England national team. He has played most of his career as a striker, however of late, he has been used in few of the games as mid-fielder as well, and has been fairly successful.


June 11, 2016: vs Russia

June 16, 2016: vs Wales

June 20, 2016: vs Slovakia


GK: Joe Hart, Fraser Forster, Tom Heaton

DEF: Kyle Walker, Danny Rose, Gary Cahill, Chris Smalling, Nathaniel Clyne, John Stones, Ryan Bertrand

MID: James Milner, Raheem Sterling, Adam Lallana, Jordan Henderson, Eric Dier, Jack Wilshere, Ross Barkley

FW: Dele Alli, Harry Kane, Wayne Rooney, Jamie Vardy, Daniel Sturridge, Marcus Rashford

Manager: Roy Hodgson

(Ayush Gupta is a reporter at CricketCountry. A passionate supporter of Manchester United, he idolises Roger Federer and is also a World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) maniac. He can be followed on Twitter @Ayush24x7)