Ranji Trophy Round 2, Elite Group B

Madhya Pradesh adopted a cautious approach on Day 3 of their Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Elite Group B, Round 2 clash against Bengal at Eden Gardens. By the time bad light forced early stumps, they had crawled to 254/5, still trailing the hosts by 256 runs.

Ashok Dinda landed early blows for Bengal after he got rid of both the openers after MP resumed on their overnight score of 15/0. The visitors had added seven runs to their overall tally when Dinda had Aryaman Birla out caught behind for 12. Rajat Patidar and Ankit Dane took them to 65 when the latter became Dinda’s second victim of the day.

Captain Naman Ojha and Patidar then steered the innings forward, adding 61 runs for the third wicket. Spinner Amir Gani broke the partnership when he bowled Patidar on 49. Ojha then combined with Shubham Sharma to take the score past the 200-run mark. He went on to score a half-century, his 53rd in first-class cricket. Anustup Majumdar then jolted them with wickets in consecutive overs. He first got rid of Ojha on 74 and then Shubham on 45.

Yash Dubey (20*) and Ankit Sharma (9*) were the two unbeaten batsmen when the play was stopped.

Brief Scores: Madhya Pradesh 254/5 (Naman Ojha 74, Shubham Sharma 45; Anustup Majumdar 2/20, Ashok Dinda 2/42) trail Bengal 510/9d (Manoj Tiwary 201*) by 256 runs