A round-up of the Elite Group B matches on day two of the 2018-19 Ranji Trophy

Resuming the day two at 261/6, Punjab managed to push their first innings total to 414 all out before reducing Andhra to 54/3 at close of play at Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam on Friday.

Middle-order batsman Sanvir Singh notched up his maiden first class hundred in his debut innings from an overnight score of 68* before falling for 110 to Shoaib Khan. Sanvir got good support from Mayank Markande, who remained unbeaten on 68. The duo put on 77 runs for the eight wicket. The tail also contributed with Arpit Pannu scoring 18, Siddarth Kaul adding 16 and Barinder Sran making 15.

For Andhra Bandaru Ayyappa claimed 3/78 while Karn Sharma also picked up three wickets giving away 115 runs. Shoaib and DP Vijaykumar grabbed two wickets each.

In reply, Kaul got rid of opener DB Prasanth in the third over for one before Markande cleaned up K Ashwin Hebbar for 17. India international Hanuma Vihari also failed to get going, falling to Sran for 19. At close of play, Andhra reached 54/3, trailing Punjab by 360 runs with Ricky Bhui (12*) and KS Bharat (2*) in the middle.

Brief Scores: Andhra 54/3 trail Punjab 414 (Sanvir Singh 110, Mayank Markande 68*; Bandaru Ayyappa 3/78) by 360 runs.

At Nadaun, Bengal were bowled out for 380 in the first innings with the last four wickets managing to add 114 runs on day two against Himachal Pradesh. Amir Gani’s 47 and Ashok Dinda’s 38 were the notable contributions for Bengal, as Himachal’s Pankaj Jaiswal finished with his maiden FC five-wicket haul of 5/81. Rishi Dhawan and Prashant Chopra added two scalps each.

In reply, Himachal lost their skipper Prashant early for eight followed by the wicket of Priyanshu Khanduri – both by Dinda – as Himachal found themselves in a spot of bother at 40/2.

However, in-form Ankush Bains counter-attacked adding an unbeaten 79 runs in 121 balls and with Nikhil Gangta put on 83 runs for the third wicket. But, Bengal struck back with Gani removing Gangta for 22. At close of play, Bains was joined by Asash Vasisht (0*) as Himachal ended on 124/3, trailing Bengal by 256 runs.

Brief Scores: Himachal 124/3 (Ankush Bains 79*, Ashok Dinda 2/25) trail Bengal 380 (Manoj Tiwary 55, Anstrup Majumdar 52; Pankaj Jaiswal 5/81) by 256 runs

At Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala were buoyed by skipper Sachin Baby’s 147 and Vasudevan Jagadeesh’s 113 not out as they declared their innings at 495/6, before giving Hyderabad one over to bat.

Resuming at an overnight score of 53, Baby notched up his 4th first class hundred and combined with Jagadeesh for a big stand of 182 runs for the fifth wicket, before he was trapped in front by PS Sairam.

Jagadeesh though got support from Akshay Chandran who made an unbeaten 48 off 87 balls with Jagadeesh reaching his 8th first class hundred. Youngster Salman Nazir failed scoring just eight before becoming Sairam’s third wicket of the innings.

In reply, Hyderabad openers Tanmay Agarwal (1*)and Akshath Reddy (0*) played out the remaining one over.

Brief Scores: Hyderabad 1/0 trail Kerala 495/6 dec (Sachin Baby 147; Vasudevan Jagadeesh 113*; PS Sairam 3/110) by 494 runs

At NPR College Ground, Dindigul in a rain-affected day, Tamil Nadu bowled out Madhya Pradesh for 393 with overnight centurion Rajat Patidar falling short of 200 by just four runs.

Shubham Sharma’s 43 was the other notable contribution for MP as the lower-order collapsed losing their last six wickets for just 43 runs which included a hat-trick from pacer M Mohammad who removed Yash Dubey (6), Patidar and Mihir Hirwani (0) off consecutive deliveries. Ankit Sharma remained unbeaten on 23.

For  TN, Mohammad finished with 4/98 while Ravichandran Ashwin picked 4/85. Vijay Shankar and Rahil Shah added one wicket each.

In reply, TN played just two overs with experienced Abhinav Mukund and Murali Vijay playing out the overs without adding a run.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 0/0 trail Madhya Pradesh 393 (Rajat Patidar 196, Naman Ojha 45; R Ashiwn 4/85) by 393 runs