Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Elite Group B roundup Day 3: Andhra solid in reply to Punjab, Himachal and Tamil Nadu hampered by rain

Andhra Pradesh were solid in their reply to Punjab s 414 and reached 327 for 5 at stumps on Day 3 at the Visakhapatnam. Ricky Bhui struck his fifth First-Class century and along with half-centuries from Srikar Bharat and Bodapati Sumanth narrowed down the difference to 87. After Andhra has lost their first three wickets for 39, Bhui and Bharat came together for a crucial 151-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Once legspinner Mayank Markande broke the stand Bhui added 132 more with Sumanth to take Andhra beyond the 300-mark margin. Punjab had to endure a long day during which just two wickets fell, both of which belonged to Markande.

Brief Scores: Andhra 327 for 5 (Ricky Bhui 150*, Srikar Bharat 76*; Mayank Markande 3 for 96), trail Punjab 414 all out by 87 runs.

At the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium in Nadaun, bad light and rain stopped play on numerous occasion but despite the stoppages, Bengal were able to bowl 64 overs in the day. Himachal Pradesh progressed from their overnight score of 124 for 3 but six wickets in the day meant that they were positioned at 302 for 9 at stumps on Day 3. Ankush Bains could add only seven more runs to his overnight score before he was cleaned up by Aamir Gani. Sumeet Verma and Ekant Sen chipped in with 46 and 43 after which Rishi Dhawan remained not out on 24. For Bengal, Pradipta Pramanik took 4 for 54.

Brief Scores: Himachal Pradesh 302 for 9 (Ankush Bains 86; Pradipta Pramanik 4 for 54), trail Bengal 380 all out by 78 runs.

Marred by constant rain, only 20 overs of play was possible at the St Xavier s College Ground in Thiruvananthapuram in which Hyderabad scored 30 runs and lost a wicket, trailing Kerala by 465 runs. Resuming the day at 1/0, the first and second sessions were washed out. In the third session, Sandeep Warrier removed opener Akshath Reddy for 7. His partner Tanmay Agarwal was unbeaten on 24 with four boundaries.

Brief Scores: Hyderabad 30 for 1 (Tanmay Agarwal 24*), trail Kerala 495 for 6 decl by 465 runs.

No play was possible between Tamil Nadu and Madhya Pradesh at the NPR College Ground in Dindigul with rain washing out the entire day s play. Tamil Nadu are 0/0 in two overs in reply to Madhya Pradesh s 393.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 0/0 trail Madhya Pradesh 393 (Rajat Patidar 196, Naman Ojha 45; R Ashwin 4/85) by 393 runs.