After being bundled out for 172 on day one of round five of the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season, Jharkhand did well to finish the day by reducing Odisha to 27/3. However, Odisha managed to take a slender first innings lead over Jharkhand before the home team made 107/3, closing out day two with a lead of 78 runs.

Varun Aaron’s double strike on day one and an Ankul Roy run-out had reduced Odisha to 3/7 before Skipper Biplab Samantray and opener Anurag Sarangi put on 50 runs for the fourth wicket to revive Odisha.

Samantray fell to Ashish Kumar for 23 but Sarangi found support in Abhishek Raut as the duo added 61 runs for the fifth wicket. Raut departed for 37 to Rahul Shukla and two overs later with the wicket of Sujit Lenka for 5 by Shukla , Odisha slumped to 130/6. However, Sarangi continued on and in company of Suryakant Pradhan, helped Odisha take the lead. Sarangi was removed by Ankul Roy for 58, but Pradhan chanced his arm around after that and scored 54 to take Odisha to 201.

For Jharkhand, Shukla, Aaron, Rahul Prasad and Roy took two wickets each.

In reply, Jharkhand openers – Kumar Deobrat and skipper Nazim Siddiqui put on 53 for the first wicket before Rajesh Mohanty send both of them back in the hut. Siddiqui made 16 while Deobrat added 37. Utkarsh Singh was removed by Dhiraj Singh for 3. At close of play, Saurabh Tiwary (22) was batting with Ishan Jaggi (29), taking their team to 107/3 with a lead of 78 over Odisha.

Brief Scores: Jharkhand 107/3 (Kumar Deobrat 37; Rajesh Mohanty 2/35) & 172 lead Odisha 201 (Anurag Sarangi 58, Suryakant Pradhan 54; Ankul Roy 2/35) by 78 runs