Syed Mushtaq Ali 2019, Group D, Round 3: Pandey, Gopal star in Karnataka’s rout of Arunachal

Manish Pandey struck his second T20 century, exactly 10 years after he set ablaze the 2009 edition of the IPL with his first and laid the platform of Karnataka s 146-run demolition of Arunachal Pradesh in Group D match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy on Sunday.

Pandey hammered an unbeaten 111 off just 46 balls with nine fours and seven sixes, powering Karnataka to 226 for 4, in reply to which Arunachal were skittled for 80 with Shreyas Gopal picking up a five-wicket-haul.

After Karnataka opted to bat, opening bowler Akhilesh Saklani removed openers Rohan Kadam and Mayank Agarwal. Karun Nair endured a low score after Prateek Kataria dismissed him for a run-a-ball 11. Out came Pandey and he forged a massive 155-run stand with Sharath Bharat, a partnership in which the wicketkeeper batsmen contributed 43 off 30 balls. Pandey brought up his century off 43 balls and took 60 off the final 21 balls he faced. This was Pandey s second 50-plus score in the tournament having scored 74 against Assam.

Arunachal s sorry batting could be highlighted by the fact that only one player got into double figures Samarth Seth s 49 accounted for nearly 60 percent of the team s score. V Koushik dismissed opener Techi Doria and captain Song Tacho before Gopal ran through the middle and lower order en route to his maiden five-for in T20 cricket.

Brief Score: Karnataka 226 for 4 (Manish Pandey 111*, Sharath BR 43, Akhilesh Sahani 2/39) beat Arunachal 80 all out (Samarth Seth 49, Shreyas Gopal 5/11) by 146 runs.