Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019

Jammu and Kashmir began their Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 in a dominating fashion with a nine-wicket win against Nagaland in their Group A, round 1 match on Thursday.

Chasing 136, J&K openers Abdul Samad and Jatin Wadhwan struck quickfire half-centuries to overhaul the target in 15.5 overs. Samad remained unbeaten on 76 off 51 with eight fours and three sixes. Wadhwan scored 62 off 40 with seven fours and two sixes but was dismissed when J&K needed just 17 runs to win.

After opting to field, Irfan Pathan and Mujtaba Yousuf got rid of Nagaland openers within the first two overs. Pathan struck first with the scalp of Rohit Jhanjhariya (1) in the very first over. Yousuf then had Sedezhalie Rupero caught for 3 in the second over.

Nagaland were struggling at 37/3 from where they first recovered through captain Rongsen Jonathan who contributed with 31 off 42. KB Pawan top-scored with an unbeaten 53 of 37, hitting three fours and as many sixes.

With decent partnerships with Abrar Kazi (11) and then Imliwati Lemtur (17*), Pawan managed to take them to 136/6 in 20 overs.

However, the below par total wasn’t going to be enough with J&K batsmen making a merry. The openers built a century stand and were separated only after adding 126 runs.

Brief Scores: Jammu and Kashmir 142/1 (Abdul Samad 76*, Jatin Wadhwan 62; Tahmeed Rahman 1/27) beat Nagaland 136/6 (KB Pawan 53*; Parvez Rasool 2/26) by nine wickets