Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019

Monu Kumar defended eight runs in the last over as Delhi lost their way from a position of strength with Jharkhand eking out a close three-run win in their round 1 match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 on Thursday.

Chasing 159 in Vijayawada, Delhi recovered quickly after losing opener Hiten Dalal in the first over. Dhruv Shorey and Unmukt Chant added 93 runs for the second wicket to put Delhi ahead in the chase.

At 97/1, Delhi were the favourites before Jharkhand pulled things back by taking wickets at vital moments. Chand was out for 33 in the 14th over with Shahbaz Nadeem snapping him up for his second wicket. Monu Kumar then removed dangerman Nitish Rana (9) cheaply before Rahul Shukla (2/35) got rid of the well-set Shorey who scored 70 off 55. He struck seven fours and two sixes and his dismissal gave Jharkhand a new lease of life.

Himmat Singh (15) and Lalit Yadav (14*) hit some lusty blows to keep Delhi’s hopes alive but Monu (1/20) delivered an excellent last over to keep them to 155/5.

Earlier, Virat Singh top-scored for Jharkhand, hitting an unbeaten 70 off 49 with eight fours and a six to help them to a decent total Devineni Venkata Ramana Praneetha Ground.

Delhi captain Ishant Sharma won the toss and Suboth Bhati struck early with the scalp of Ishan Kishan (0) in the third over. Decent partnerships followed that kept Jharkhand going.

A 62-run stand between Virat and Kumar Deobrat (19) took the score past 100-run mark before Ishank Jaggi (24*) pushed them to 158/4.

Brief Scores: Jharkhand 158/4 (Virat Singh 70*, Anand Singh 37; Suboth Bhati 2/33) beat Delhi 155/5 (Dhruv Shorey 70; Shahbaz Nadeem 2/26, Rahul Shukla 2/35) by three runs