Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 Group A Round 6

Fifties from openers Vishnu Vinod and Rohan Kunnummal fired Kerala to a thumping 10-wicket win over Nagaland in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Group A, round 6 clash on Thursday.

After keeping Nagaland to 103/8 in Vijayawada, Kerala sailed to their fourth win of the season overhauling the target in 12.2 overs. Vinod struck four fours and three sixes to remain unbeaten on 53 while Kunnumal belted eight fours in his 36-ball 51*.

Put in to bat first, Nagaland were left reeling after losing four wickets inside the Powerplay. Opener Sedezhalie Rupero departed in the fourth over for run-a-ball 10 while Nitesh Lohchab (1) lasted just two deliveries. Captain Rognsen Jonathan (2) and KB Pawan (0) were snapped up by MD Nidheesh (3/17) in the fifth over with Nagaland 19/4.

Opener Rohit Jhanjhariya, who remained unbeaten on 49, tried resurrecting the innings through his partnerships with Abrar Kazi (14) and Paras Sehrawat (16) but Kerala managed to make regular dents. Nidheesh was the pick of the bowlers while Basil Thampi and Vinoop Manoharan chipped in with a couple of wickets each.

Kerala scored 105/0 through aggressive half-centuries from their two openers, condemning Nagaland to their fifth defeat of the season.

Brief Scores: Kerala 105/0 (Vishnu Vinod 53*, Rohan Kunnummal 51*) beat Nagaland 103/8 (Rohit Jhanjhariya 49*; MD Nidheesh 3/17) by 10 wickets