Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Group C: Devdhar, Pratham hit fifties as Railways down Goa

Mrunal Devdhar and Pratham Singh struck half-centuries as Railways comfortably chased down 165 runs against Goa in Round 3 match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy on Sunday. Opting to bowl first, Railways bowlers KK Upadhyay and Prashant Awasthi shared four wickets before Suyash Prabhudessai s 49 from No. 7 lifted Goa to 164 for 7.

Upadhyay struck upfront for Railways with the wickets of openers Sagun Kamat and Amogh Desai. Amit Verma and Keenan Vaz got starts but were dismissed in quick succession by Harsh Tyagi and Awasthi respectively. Amit Mishra returned expensive figures of 1 for 54 with his only wicket being that of key man Prabhudessai. Lakshay Garg remained unbeaten on 16 off 13 towards the end, but it was Prabhudessai s 24-ball knock comprising five fours and three sixes that took Goa above the 150-run mark.

Railways were solid in their chase with Devdhar and Pratham adding 110 runs for the opening wicket. Devdhar hammered his way to a rapid fifty and scored 82 off 44 with nine fours and four sixes before Lakshay Garg provided the first breakthrough. Pratham and Prashant Awasthi added another 54 in six overs before Darshan Misal broke the stand. Pratham remained unbeaten on 60 off 47 with six fours and a six and steered Railways to an eight-wicket win.

Brief Scores: Railways 168 for 2 (Mrunal Devdhar 82, Pratham Singh 60) beat Goa 164 for 7 (Suyash Prabhudessai 49, Amit Verma 23; Prashant Awasthi 2/14) by eight wickets.