Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group C

Cheteshwar Pujara belted an unbeaten 100 off 61 but his blistering century wasn’t enough as Railways recorded a five-wicket win with two deliveries to spare against Saurashtra in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Group C, Round 1 match at Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on Friday.

After being put in to bat, Pujara, who opened the innings alongside Harvik Desai, laid a solid platform with an 85-run stand. The partnership was broken when Ashish Yadav bowled Desai on 34. Pujara though continued to stitch significant partnerships, this time with Robin Uthappa who scored 46 off 31 with five fours and a six.

It was Pujara who was the highlight of the Saurashtra innings as he clattered 14 fours and a six for his century to power them to 188/3 in 20 overs.

Railways openers also made a blistering start, sharing 55-run partnership in just five overs. Prerak Mankad provided the breakthrough when he had Mrunal Devdhar caught for 49 by his captain Jaydev Unadkat with the first delivery off the sixth over.

Devdhar struck eight fours and two sixes during his stay.

Amit Paunikar (1) and Amit Chopra (15) both fell to Dharmendrsinh Jadeja (2/27) cheaply but Railways chase never went off the track. Pujara then effected the run out of Pratham Singh (40) to leave Railways 112/4 in 11.2 overs and the match still in balance.

However, Abhinav Dixit struck an unbeaten 37 off 30 and first with Asish Yadav (24) and then Harsh Tyagi (16*) overhauled the target with Railways scoring 190/5 in 19.4 overs.

Brief Scores: Railways 190/5 (Mrunal Devdhar 49, Pratham Singh 40; Abhinav Dixit 37*; Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 2/27) beat Saurashtra 188/3 (Cheteshwar Pujara 100*; Ashish Yadav 1/30) by five wickets