Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group C Round 5

Railways floored Mumbai with a dominating performance, cruising to a 57-run win in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Group C match in Indore on Wednesday.

After Railways openers had laid the platform for a challenging 175/5, the bowlers, led by Ashish Yadav (4/32) stepped up to bowl Mumbai out for 118 in 18.1 overs. Thus, Railways continued their unbeaten run while handing Mumbai their first defeat of the season.

Mumbai were left reeling in their chase losing their star batsmen inside the Powerplay overs. Prithvi Shaw struck a six before being bowled by Ashish for 6 off the third delivery of the innings. His opening partner and captain Ajinkya Rahane (4) followed in the next over. The body blow came in the form of Shreyas Iyer (16), the leading run-getter of the season while Siddhesh Lad became Krishnakant Upadhyay’s second victim that left Mumbai 33/4 in 5.4 overs.

Suryakumar Yadav (38) tried putting the chase back on track but Ashish’s twin blows in the 12th over all but ended Mumbai’s flickering hopes.

While Ashish ended with the top figures, Upadhyay and Amit Mishra chipped in with a couple of wickets each.

Earlier, Pratham Singh scored 89 off 60 with nine fours and three sixes as his opening stand of 65 runs with Mrunal Devdhar (43) set the base.

Mumbai hit back through Tushar Deshpande who got rid of Devdhar and Prashant Awasthi (0) in the final Powerplay overs with the scorecard stationary at 65.

Prathan steered them forward by stitching decent partnerships with Abhinav Dixit (14) and with Amit Chopra (14*) and was out only in the 20th over. For Mumbai, Deshpande starred with the ball with figures of 3/44.

Brief Scores: Railways 175/5 (Pratham Singh 89, Mrunal Devdhar 43; Tushar Deshpande 3/44) beat Mumbai 118 (Suryakumar Yadav 38; Ashish Yadav 4/32) by 57 runs