Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group D

Bengal created history when they pummelled a hapless Mizoram side by 159 runs to register the biggest win, in terms of runs, in the history of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy on Thursday.

After posting a mammoth 221/4, Prayas Barman (4/14) and Pradipta Pramanik (3/13) combined to skittle Mizoram for 62 in 13 overs for a record win which is the joint fourth-best in T20 history.

Only three Mizo batsmen registered scores in double digits, and none crossed 17. They began losing wickets from the fourth ball of their chase when veteran Ashok Dinda had Sinan Abdul Khadir caught for 1.

At 55/4 they were struggling but nevertheless, wouldn’t have imagined they the worse was yet to come. They ended up losing their final seven wickets for the addition of just seven runs in the space of 18 deliveries.

Mizoram opted to field but Bengal opener Vivek Singh led a blazing start belting 28 off 12 deliveries with the help of three fours and two sixes. However, he fell in the third over but there was no respite for the bowlers.

Abhimanyu Easwaran went on to score an unbeaten century, 107* off 56, while Sreevats Goswami scored 55 off 33 as the pair added 109 runs for the second wicket.

Goswami departed off the last delivery of 13th over following which Easwaran shifted gears and pushed the total past the 200-run mark. He struck eight fours and smoked five sixes to set up an imposing target under the pressure of which Mizoram crumbled.

Brief Scores: Bengal 221/5 (Abhimanyu Easwaran 107*, Shreevats Goswami 55; Taruwar Kohli 2/49) beat Mizoram 62 (K Vanlalruata 17; Prayas Barman 4/14, Pradipta Pramanik 3/13) by 159 runs