Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group D

Haryana began their Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy campaign with a comfortable eight-wicket win over Arunachal Pradesh in Cuttack on Thursday.

After opting to field in their Group D, Round 1 fixture, Haryana restricted Arunachal to 106/6 in 20 overs with Sumit Kumar returning top figures of 3/13. They then overhauled the target in 15.1 overs after recovering from a bad start to make 110/2.

Arunachal were off to a slow start with openers adding 42 runs in 8.1 overs before Sumit struck twice in the space of three deliveries to send back their openers. Techi Doria (14) and Samarth Seth (25) both were caught by Pramod Chandilaa off Sumit.

From 42/0, Arunachal suffered a collapse to be reduced to 58/4. Kshitiz Sharma and Kamsha Yangfo managed to arrest the slide but failed to lift the scoring rate.

Kshitiz remained unbeaten on 46 off 32 while Yangfo scored 15. Captain Song Tacho and Robin Toko failed to open their account.

Haryana’s chase had a rough start with openers Himanshu Rana (1) and Treyaksh Bali (1) departing inside the first two overs. Chaitanya Bishnoi and Nitin Saini restored the order as they put the chase back on track.

Bishnoi scored an unbeaten 60 of 43 with eight fours and a six while Saini contributed with 45 off 42 with the help of six fours.

Brief Scores: Haryana 110/2 (Chaitanya Bishnoi 60*) beat Arunachal Pradesh 106/6 (Kshitiz Sharma 46*; Sumit Kumar 3/13) by eight wickets