Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Round 3 Group D

Bengal huffed and puffed their way to a tense three-wicket win over Haryana at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on Sunday in their round three meeting of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019.

After limiting Haryana to a below par 141/8, Bengal slipped multiple times in their chase leaving it for their lower order to bail them out as they overhauled the target off the last delivery of the 19th over.

Bengal opener Sreevats Goswami hit three fours before becoming Ashish Hooda’s (2/22) first victim in the third over. Vivek Singh (32) and Abhimanyu Easwaran (22) took the score to 58 runs before being separated.

However, they slumped to 89/4 from 58/1. Manoj Tiwary kept his end intact, hoping for a late push but his dismissal off the second delivery of 18th over complicated things for Bengal. Prayas Barman hit two fours and a six to level the scores before Ritwik Chowdhury hit the winning boundary.

Earlier, Ishan Porel (3/28) and Ashok Dinda (2/23) starred with the ball as Haryana batsmen struggled after being put in to bat first.

Porel landed the first breakthrough in the fourth over with the scalp of Treyaksh Bali on 4. Kanishk Seth (2/37) accounted for Chaitanya Bishnoi in the next over leaving Haryana at 34/2.

A recovery followed. Himanshu Rana finished as the top-scorer with 60 off 55 that included nine fours. With Rahul Tewatia (30 off 17), he added 47 runs for the fourth wicket.

Sumit Kumar stepped up to lead the late surge with a four and a six but Porel returned to have him bowled on 11 off 5, not allowing a late surge.

With seven wickets in hand for the final five overs, Haryana would have fancied their chances but Porel and Dina bowled well in tandem to pour cold water on their hopes.

Brief Scores: Bengal 145/7 (Vivek Singh 32, Manoj Tiwary 30; Ashish Hooda 2/22, Amit Mishra 2/23) beat Haryana 141/8 (Himanshu Rana 60; Ishan Porel 3/28)