Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Round 3 Group D

Tamil Nadu cruised to a comfortable six-wicket win over Bihar for their first win of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 in Surat on Sunday.

Bihar opted to bat and struggled to score quickly. The openers failed to find boundaries and M Mohammed landed two blows in the eight over getting rid of Piyush Singh (17) and Babul Kumar (0).

Mangal Mehrur (12) was then run out in the following over as 32/0 quickly became 33/3 in quick time. MD Rahmatullah (32) and Asfan Khan (19) rebuild the innings with a 54-run partnership.

The stand was broken when Ravichandran Ashwin cleaned up Asfan in the 15th over and that opened the floodgates. The innings suffered another collapse as they slumped to 109/8 with the pair of Ravichandran Ashwin and M Mohammed sharing six wickets between them.

Keshav Kumar hit an unbeaten 21 off 13 to give the final total some respectability as Bihar finished on 131/9 in 20 overs.

The target was never going to pose any serious challenge for the Tamil Nadu batsmen. Vivek Kumar did strike in the third over to remove Hari Nishanth (12) early but Baba Indrajith (46) and NS Chaturved (25) took control as they steered the chase forward.

Ashutosh Aman struck in the ninth over with the wicket of Chaturved and he also got rid of the promoted Ravichandran Ashwin on 4. Washington Sundar (38*) and Indrajith took Tamil Nadu closer to the target with a 50-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Indrajith was bowled in the 18th over but by then the target was just 14 runs away Tamil Nadu achieved in 18.5 overs.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 132/4 (Baba Indrajith 46, Washington Sundar 38*; Ashutosh Aman 2.19) beat Bihar 131/9 (MD Rahmatullah 32; M Mohammed 3/21, Ravichandrah Ashwin 3/31) by six wickets