Tiwari fifty guides Chhattisgarh to massive win over Mizoram

Rishabh Tiwari s half-century formed the base of Chhattisgarh s massive 116-run win over Mizoram in Round 7 of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019. Tiwari slammed 85 off 46 with 12 boundaries and a six to lead Chhattisgarh to 220 for 5. In response, Mizoram were limited to just 104/5 after 20 overs.

After the loss of Shashank Chandraker early, Tiwari and captain Harpreet Singh added 77 runs for the second wicket and took Chhattisgarh past the 100-run margin. Harpreet clubbed five fours and a six before falling to Andrew Vanlalhruaia. Amandeep Khare s 23 off 17 along with a couple of useful hands from Ajay Mandal (19* off 10) and wicketkeeper Lavin Coster who creamed three sixes in his 7-ball 22 not out, gave Chhattisgarh an imposing total.

Mizoram s batting was abysmal as barring Akhil Rajput s 40, no batsmen could even enter the 20s. Shakeeb Ahmed Pawandeep Singh produced economical figures of 2 for 15 and 2 for 8 to share scalp two wickets each and ran through Mizoram s top and middle order. Lalhruaizela’s 14, Amatea’s 13 and Sinan Abdul Khadir’s 13 off 5 were the only notable contributions.

Brief Scores: Chhattisgarh 220 for 5 (Rishabh Tiwari 85; Bobby Zothansanga 2 for 35) beat Mizoram 104 for 5 in 20 overs (Akhil Rajout 40; Pawandeep Singh 2 for 8) by 116 runs.