3rd T20I: Australia bat as Starc returns for series decider
Bhuvneshwar Kumar appeals unsuccessfully against Aaron Finch. (AFP Image)

Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bat in the third and final Twenty20 international against India in Sydney on Sunday as they look seal the series.

Australia won a nail-biting and rain-affected first match in Brisbane by four runs, with the second in Melbourne abandoned due to persistent showers. It means the best India can do now is share the T20 spoils ahead of their four Test series starting in Adelaide next month.

Australia have been boosted by the inclusion of Mitchell Starc to replace Billy Stanlake who rolled his ankle in the warm-up ahead of the second game. Nathan Coulter-Nile replaced Stanlake at short notice in Melbourne and keeps his spot with Starc playing in place of Jason Behrendorff.

It is Starc’s first short-format international in two years. “Looks a pretty good wicket, a bit dry and if we can put runs on the board, we are backing ourselves to defend anything,” said Finch, who was out for a first ball duck in Melbourne.

Once again, India opted to go with an unchanged side. “We would have bowled first as well anyway. The last game we played here, we chased down a big score,” said India skipper Virat Kohli. “Our intensity was right up there in the last game and we’re really looking forward to this one.”

Australia: D’Arcy Short, Aaron Finch (capt), Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ben McDermott, Alex Carey, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Starc

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed