Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, indian home season, bcci
India s home season will start with the Freedom Trophy, where they will take on South Africa in three T20Is and three Tests. @AFP

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced the schedule of the Indian cricket team s home season of 2019-20. The Indian team is scheduled to play 5 Tests, 9 ODIs and 12 T20Is during this period.

The season will start with the Freedom Trophy for the Gandhi-Mandela series played between India & South Africa in September, followed by a T20I & Test series against Bangladesh in November, said BCCI in a media release.

The West Indies will then tour India in the month of December and following suit will be Zimbabwe and Australia in January. The 5 Tests to be played in the 2019-20 season will be a part of the Test Championship, added BCCI.

India will take on South Africa in three T20Is and three Tests. The series will begin with a T2oI in Dharamsala on September 15, 2019 and get over with a Test in Pune, beginning on October 19. (ALSO READ: Cricket World Cup 2019: Miffed by no-show of Indian player at scheduled briefing, media declines press conference )

Bangladesh will then tour India for two Tests and three Twenty20 internationals and the series will kick off in November.

After Bangladesh, West Indies will tour India and the two teams will be involved in three T20Is and three ODIs, starting from December 6. (ALSO READ: Revealed: Indian cricket team’s alternate jersey for ICC World Cup 2019)

In January (2020), Zimbabwe and Australia will travel to India to play three T20Is and three ODIs respectively. In March 2020, South Africa will tour India for three ODIs.