Adam Zampa (right) © AFP (File photo)
Adam Zampa (right) © AFP (File photo)

Adam Zampa, the right-handed Australian leg-spinner on Tuesday night registered the first five-wicket haul of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 tournament. Zampa achieved the feat in the 40th game of the IPL 2016 tournament, between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) at the Dr YS Rajasekhara ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam. Zampa returned with the figures of 4-0-19-6 and his performance is now the second best bowling show by any bowler in IPL history. Zampa’s six-wicket haul was the first instance of a bowler taking more than 5 wickets in an innings in this IPL, and it was overall the 15th five-for performance by a bowler. Live Cricket Scorecard: Rising Pune Supergiants vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2016 Match 40 at Visakhapatnam

Zampa claimed the wickets of Kane Wiliamson, Moises Henriques, Yuvraj Singh, Deepak Hooda and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. He might have returned with 7 wickets in his kitty, had RP Singh not spilled an easy catch on the penultimate ball of the final over of the Sunrisers Hyderabad’s innings. ALSO READ: Adam Zampa 6-for rips apart Sunrisers Hyderabad against Rising Pune Supergiants in IPL 2016

Zampa was a crucial part of the Australian side in the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 as well, a tournament in which he showed great control over the ball. Being a leg-spinner, Zampa falls in the category of the bowlers who may not generate a lot of turn of the pitch and end up being smashed all over the park. But this was not the case with Zampa who showed tremendous control over his flight and turn of the ball as he played the role of someone who can contain the opposition with perfection.

Here is the list of the best bowling figures in IPL history:

Player O M R W Team Against Venue Year
Sohail Tanvir 4 0 14 6 RR CSK Jaipur 2008
Adam Zampa 4 0 19 6 RPS SRH Visakhapatnam 2016
Anil Kumble 3.1 1 5 5 RCB RR Newlands 2009
Ishant Sharma 3 0 12 5 DC KTK Kochi 2011
Lasith Malinga 3.4 1 13 5 MI DD Kotla 2011
Ravindra Jadeja 4 0 16 5 CSK DC Visakhapatnam 2012
James Faulkner 4 1 16 5 RR SRH Uppal 2013
Amit Mishra 4 0 17 5 DD DC Kotla 2008
Harbhajan Singh 4 0 18 5 MI CSK Wankhede 2011
Sunil Narine 4 0 19 5 KKR KXIP Eden Gardens 2012
James Faulkner 4 0 20 5 RR SRH Jaipur 2013
Munaf Patel 4 0 21 5 MI KXIP Mohali 2011
Lakshmipathy Balaji 4 0 24 5 CSK KXIP Chepauk 2008
Dimitri Mascarenhas 4 0 25 5 KXIP PWI Mohali 2012
Jaydev Unadkat 4 0 25 5 RCB DD Kotla 2013

Sunrisers Hyderabad were restricted to 137 for 8 in their allotted 20 overs. Shikhar Dhawan top scored with 33, whereas Kane Williamson chipped in with 32.