Afghanistan captain Asghar Stanikzai    Getty Images
Afghanistan captain Asghar Stanikzai Getty Images

Afghanistan have announced a 16-man squad to tour India for their inaugural Test. The Test will start June 14 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. Afghanistan have named Asghar Stanikzai as captain, and as expected, have included both Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman have also been named in the squad. Other key members like Mohammad Shahzad, Rahmat Shah and Mohammad Nabi have also been picked.

Zahir Khan, who was injured ahead of IPL, has been named as one of the four spinners in the side. Wafadar Momand, Syed Sherzad and Yahim Ahmadzai will lead the pace attack. Javed Ahmadi, Ihsanullah Jannat, Rahmat Shah, Nasir Jamal, and Hashmatullah Shahidi form a strong middle order given their First-Class numbers.

BCCI had earlier announced a 15-man India squad led by Ajinkya Rahane for Test against Afghanistan a Virat Kohli opted out of the one-off Test due to Surrey stint, but has now been ruled out due to a neck injury. Afghanistan with this will become the 12th Test-playing nation. Wriddhiman Saha is also nursing an injury.

India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Cheteshwar Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur.

Afghanistan Test squad: Asghar Stanikzai (c), Mohammed Shahzad (wk), Afsar Zazai (wk), Javed Ahmadi, Ihsanullah Jannat, Rahmat Shah, Nasir Jamal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Zahir Khan, Hamza Hotak, Syed Sherzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar Momand, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman

Afghanistan Cricket Board also named a 16-man squad for the 3 T20Is versus Bangladesh prior to the historic Test, at Dehradun, India, on June 3, 5 and 7. Stanikzai, Rashid, Nabi, Gulbadin Naib and Mujeeb are notable inclusions.

Afghanistan T20I squad for Bangladesh ODIs: Asghar Stanikzai (c), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Najeebullah Tarakai, Usman Ghani, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Darwish Rasooli, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Jannat, Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Shapoor Zadran, Aftab Alam