<a href="https://www.cricketcountry.com/tag/alex-ross" target="_blank">Alex Ross</a> became the first batsman to be given out 'obstructing the field' in any <a href="https://www.cricketcountry.com/tag/bbl" target="_blank">BBL</a> match during <a href="https://www.cricketcountry.com/tag/brisbane-heat" target="_blank">Brisbane Heat</a>'s defeat to <a href="https://www.cricketcountry.com/tag/hobart-hurricanes" target="_blank">Hobart Hurricanes</a>. Off the final delivery of Tymal Mills in the 17th over of Heat's innings, Ross hammered one to deep midwicket before running for a couple. The fielder picked up and threw towards the wicketkeeper. It initially seemed like the ball was about to hit Ross as he changed his path of running to avoid that. Ross made it to the crease as the ball bounced off him to hit the stumps. <p></p><blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"> <p></p><p dir="ltr" lang="en">The first obstructing the field in BBL history <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BBL07?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BBL07</a> <a href="https://t.co/uG1o1AlbWp">pic.twitter.com/uG1o1AlbWp</a></p> <p></p> KFC Big Bash League (@BBL) <a href="https://twitter.com/BBL/status/951058705985908737?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 10, 2018</a></blockquote> <p></p>&nbsp; <p></p> <p></p>Though he seemed to have been saved, the umpires then had a few words before declaring him out 'obstructing the field'. The last instance of this kind of a dismissal came in the T20I between South Africa and England in 2017 as Jason Roy was given out. Heat later lost the match by three runs. <p></p> <p></p>Heat captain Brendon McCullum felt it was not the right decision. "I personally thought it was not the right decision. I think he was running away from the ball. He was not impeding the ball. I was disappointed that the appeal for upheld but I guess Hobart Hurricanes had the point. Congrats to them the game was brilliant and I just thought they probably deserved to win," <em>sportingnews.com</em> reported him as saying. <p></p> <p></p>"We are not righteous in our stance on the spirit of the game but every now and then you get a chance to stand up to the spirit of cricket and tonight George and the Hurricanes missed that opportunity. I don t really care what the rules are. To me it is one of those grey areas like the Mankad. To me it falls into the spirit of the game and I was making that point to George but he is quite entitled to do it differently, he added. <p></p> <p></p>However, Hurricanes' captain George Bailey believed they were right in appealing for obstructing the field. <p></p> <p></p> I appealed for the run-out then when I saw on the replay Rossy changed his line we asked has he changed his line, can you check for obstructing the field as well? And then we were just waiting in our positions for the umpires decision, and that s really it, he said.