Steven Smith    AFP
Steven Smith with Test Player of the Year trophy AFP

A star-studded night in Melbourne saw the stars Australian cricket come together for the Allan Border Medal 2018 ceremony. As expected David Warner and Steven Smith stole limelight from a plethora of superstars, which included Shane Warne, Belinda Clark, Karan Rolton and Ricky Ponting.

The coveted Allan Border Medal for 2018 went to Smith, his second after 2015. Smith’s record for the year reads 1,754 runs at an average of 67.46 across formats. Smith (246) was paces ahead from Warner (162) in terms of votes.

Ellyse Perry was awarded the Belinda Clarke Award for 2018, her second after 2016. During the time frame, Ellyse scored 756 runs and picked 20 wickets across formats.

To start the evening, Smith was named the Test Player of the Year for scoring 1,305 runs at an average of 81.56. Nathan Lyon came second with 26 votes. Warner was awarded ODI Player of the Year for his terrific show in 2017, besting Smith by 6 votes to clinch the medal.

Aaron Finch claimed the T20 International Player of the Year, edging out Adam Zampa by one vote. George Bailey was awarded Male Domestic Player of the Year, while Beth Mooney took the Female Domestic Player of the Year award. Bailey scored 1,468 runs at 52.43.

21-year-old Jhye Richardson was bestowed with Bradman Young Cricketer award. Georgia Redmayne was named the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer.