Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra claimed his third hat-trick in IPL career to inspire Sunrisers Hyderabad to a memorable win © IANS

By Devarchit Varma

Pune: Apr 17, 2013

Amit Mishra claimed his third hat-trick in IPL career as Sunrisers Hyderabad fought back to register a 11-run win against Pune Warriors India, in a low-scoring 22nd match of the sixth edition at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium on Wednesday.

Chasing a modest total of 120 to win, Pune Warriors India were bowled out for 108 from 19 overs.

It wasn’t a game in which the winning side did all things right — Hyderabad were restricted to a modest total after a hapless show with the bat, allowed the Pune openers to get away with a flying start, and were out of control for most part of the match.

But still they managed to stage a remarkable comeback, largely due to Mishra’s all-round show. He scored 30 runs and grabbed 4-19 runs to lead his side to a memorable win.

Pune made a brisk start to their chase of 120, with openers Robin Uthappa and Aaron Finch garnering 38 runs from the first four overs.

Uthappa started off the proceedings with 12 runs from the second over of the innings off Dale Steyn. Uthappa cracked two boundaries towards the on side and collected three runs off the fourth ball.

Finch soon joined in with a boundary towards point off Ishant Sharma and then followed it up with two more off Steyn as Pune were off to a quick start.

Just when Sunrisers Hyderabad’s hopes of a fightback were dwindling, Thisara Perera got rid of Uthappa and Finch on consecutive deliveries to peg back the Warriors.

Uthappa had raced to 22 from 14 balls with the help of four boundaries, while Finch scored 16 off 13 balls which included three hits to the fence.

T Suman and Steven Smith took time to settle in, which was the needed and there weren’t many runs to

Suman and Smith added 19 runs for the third wicket, before the former fell to Sunrisers’ spinner Karan Sharma.

Pune failed to build on the momentum provided by Uthappa and Finch once again, as the middle-order couldn’t flourish against the Sunrisers. After Suman’s fall, skipper Angelo Mathews walked in and he added another 19 runs from four overs before Smith fell to Ishant Sharma.

Smith’s wicket raised hopes for the Sunrisers – and the slow scoring rate backed it. Pune lost wickets in a heap and it all came down to the tailenders to finish the job.

Mitchell Marsh went back into the hut after 13-ball 14, Abhishek Nayar fell for nought, and Mathews succumbed to the pressure built by Hyderabad bowlers after 20 off 24 balls.

Earlier in the day, Bhuvneshwar Kumar led an impressive Pune Warriors India bowling performance to restrict the hapless Sunrisers Hyderabad to a paltry total of 119 for eight.

Pune skipper Angelo Mathews returned to the playing XI after missing out the previous game against Chennai Super Kings. Mathews decided to bowl first, and his bowlers proved the decision right with an impressive show.

Only three Hyderabad batsmen — Parthiv Patel, Biplab Samantray and Amit Mishra — reached double figures as the rest struggled.

Bhuvneshwar and Ashok Dinda kept it tight in the initial overs, giving no room to the Hyderabad openers Parthiv Patel and Quinton de Kock. Dinda reaped success with this strategy on the last ball of the second over when de Kock moved to make room and slashed hard, but the ball went straight to Mitchell Marsh at cover point.

De Kock’s IPL debut lasted eight balls from which he scored two runs.

Bhuvneshwar carried on his good form with the ball, snaffling out two more wickets in the third over to leave Sunrisers reeling. He cleaned up Parthiv with an in-swinger which crashed into the off stump and moved the next delivery into the right-handed stand-in skipper Cameron White to disturb his furniture.

Before his dismissal, Parthiv tried taking the attack to the opposition as he got two boundaries off Bhuvneshwar to give Sunrisers a much-needed momentum.

The Hyderabad top order failed to put up a fight against Bhuvneshwar as he got rid of Hanuma Vihari in his third over of the innings, caught by Aaron Finch at the first slip.

Pune were struggling at 17 for four after five overs. Bhuvneshwar finished with the figures of 4-0-18-3.

The Sunrisers’ condition worsened when Karan Sharma as trapped by Pune spinner Rahul Sharma in the 10th over of the innings, and in the 11th over they lost their star all-rounder Thisara Perera, who fell to Mitchell Marsh, caught behind the wickets by Robin Uthappa for two.

Kumar Sangakkara’s decision to opt out of the match certainly backfired, as they lacked an experienced campaigner in the middle to hold the fort, which they needed the most.

Biplab Samantray’s innings of 37 from as many balls was the only bright spot for the touring side, as none of their batsmen managed to put up a fight against an inspired Pune bowling attack.

Samantray’s resistance was ended by Rahul Sharma, who had him caught by Manish Pandey at the long-off boundary. With Samantray’s fall, Hyderabad’s hopes of a decent first innings were dashed.

Hyderabad batsmen Mishra and Ashish Reddy stitched a crucial 40-run stand for the eighth wicket towards the end, which helped their side to reach 119 for eight from their allotted 20 overs.

For the Warriors, Rahul Sharma claimed two wickets for 21 from his four overs, while Dinda and Marsh bagged a wicket each.

Brief Scores: Sunrisers Hyderabad 119 for 8 in 20 overs (Biplab Samantray 37, Amit Mishra 30; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3 for 18, Rahul Sharma 2 for 21) beat Pune Warriors India 108 all-out in 19 overs (Robin Uthappa 22, Angelo Mathews 20; Amit Mishra 4 for 19, Thisara Perera 3 for 20) by 11 runs.

Man of the Match: Amit Mishra

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery

(Devarchit Varma is a cricket fanatic who finds nothing more exciting to do than to write, watch or talk about the sport. Having played the game at club and college level, he now pursues his passion as a scribe)