Angelo Mathews was announced as Sri Lanka's Cricketer of the Year    AFP (file photo)
Angelo Mathews was announced as Sri Lanka’s Cricketer of the Year AFP (file photo)

In an star studded ceremony held in Colombo, Sri Lanka‘s Test and One-Day International (ODI) captain Angelo Mathews was honored by the Sri Lanka Cricket Board with the Cricketer of the Year 2015 award. Mathews has been missing in action from international cricket due to multiple injuries on the leg. Mathews last played for Sri Lanka when the Emerald nation visited England few months back. Along with this Mathews was also the recipient of Test all-rounder of the year award at the Sri Lanka Cricket Award 2016. Mathews deputy Dinesh Chandimal was awarded by the jury as Test batsmen of Year. Chandimal was the main stay of their batting in England Test series. ALSO READ: Wasim Akram roped in as mentor for Sri Lanka fast bowlers

Sri Lanka’s record breaking bowler Rangana Herath too bagged an awarded for himself. Herath who guided Sri Lanka to a 2-0 whitewash against Zimbabwe last month was announced as Test bowler of the year. Herath is the second highest wicket-taker in Tests this year with 54 victims in his bag. Angelo Mathews along being named as Test All-rounder of the year was also adjured the ODI all-rounder of the year. Kusal Mendis who is having a unforgettable year in Tests and ODIs was named as future cricketer of the year award.

Sri Lankan cricketing legends like Kumar Sangakkara and Tillakaratne Dilshan were also awarded in the ceremony. Dilshan who announced his retirement from cricket in the series against Australia was named as Twenty20 International (T20I) batsman of the year, along with voted as peoples player of the year award. Sangakkara was named as ODI batsmen of the year.

Sri Lanka’s T20 skipper Lasith Malinga was named as T20I bowler of the year, along with his ODI bowler of the year award. The awards function was attended by former Sri Lanka captain and coach Marvan Attapatu, former Pakistan captain and bowling legend Wasim Akram.