Arun Karthik's century helps TNCA President XI post 396/9 against Hyderabad

Arun Karthik essayed a magnificant knock of 162 for TNCA President XI © Getty Images (Representational Photo)

Chennai: Aug 24, 2013

Riding on Arun Karthik‘s (162) magnificent century, TNCA President XI posted a mammoth 396 for 9 against Hyderabad, while Haryana too had the upper hand over Kerala on first of the two day quarterfinal matches of the Buchi Babu Cricket tournament at Chennai on Saturday.

The highlight of the four quarter-final matches was a super 162-run effort by TNCA opener Karthik and a massive stand of 201 runs for the third wicket with all-rounder Babu Indrajith (95) who yet again missed a deserving century.

TNCA posted a huge total of 396 for nine in their allotted 100 overs.

Among the bowlers, Uttar Pradesh left arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav hogged the honours claiming 5 for 114 against Karnataka.

Karnataka aggregated 230 in 74 overs after electing to bat. UP in reply were 118 for two in 36 overs when stumps were drawn.

In the match between TNCA and Andhra, the former were dismissed for 261 with captain Ravichandran Ashwin chipping in with a valuable 60 off 71 balls and then claimed two wickets to end Andhra’s day at 20 for 2.

Haryana made 352 for nine in their quota of 100 overs.

Abhimanyu Khod (89) and Sunny Singh (65) laid a solid foundation adding 115 runs for the second wicket in 27.2 overs.

Then, Rahul Dalal (57), Ajay Jadeja (45 not out) and Amit Mishra (30) contributed for Haryana.

Kerala were 12 without loss in three overs.

Brief scores:

TNCA President XI 396 for 9 (KB Arun Karthik 162, Abhinav Mukund 60, Indrajit Baba 95, Vijay Shankar 52; CV Milind 2 for 51, Amol Shinde 2 for 108) vs Hyderabad

Haryana 352 for 9  (Abhimanyu Khod 89, Sunny Singh 65, Rahul Dalal 57, Ajay Jadeja 45*, Amit Mishra 30, Prasanth Prarameshwaran 3 for 52 and Prasanth 2 for 55) lead Kerala 12 for no loss by 341 runs.

TNCA 261 (K Bharath Shankar 40, M Kaushik Gandhi 44, V Maaruthi Raghav 74, R Ashwin 60; GV Prasad 4 for 49, K Bharat Reddy 3 for 48) lead Andhra 20 for 2 by 241 runs.

Karnataka 230 (J Sujith 71*, Abhimanyu Mithin 45; Kuldeep Yadav 5 for 114, Saurabh Kumar 3 for 58) lead Uttar Pradesh 118 for 2 (Tanmay Srivastava 54, Mohammad Kaif 55*) by 112 runs.