Ashes 2019 schedule: Fixtures, dates, squads, tv channel, live stream of England vs Australia Test series
Australia and England have contested the little Ashes urn since 1883. © Getty

The oldest rivalry in cricket resumes next month as hosts England meet Australia in the 71st Ashes contest.

Test cricket’s most historic contest dates back to the late 19th century, and the upcoming five-match series holds plenty of significance for both teams. England are coming off their first Cricket World Cup title ever and hope to regain the Ashes, while Australia will hope to continue their upswing after a tumultuous 18 months.

The Ashes series will begin at Edgbaston on August 1 followed by a week’s break before the second match at Lord’s. The series will then shift to Leeds – the northernmost venue of the contest – for the third Test at Headingley, and then to Old Trafford for the fourth Test and finally at The Oval for the last fixture.


Tim Paine‘s Australian team are holders of the iconic little urn after the 2017-18 4-0 win at home, but no touring Australian side has won in England since 2001. Eighteen years ago, Steve Waugh’s Australia won 4-1.

Since then, England beat Australia 2-1 in a historic 2005 series, and backed that up by home series victories in 2009, 2013 and 2015. In this time, Australia have won four, lost ten and drawn six of 20 Test matches.

This year’s Ashes will also see the return of Steven Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft from their respective bans for the ball-tampering scandal that broke during the Cape Town Test in March 2018. None of the three has played a Test since; Smith and Warner were part of Australia’s World Cup team recently.

Australia and England will name their respective squads for the Ashes over the next week. This week, England play Ireland in a four-day Test match at Lord’s while Australia have a four-day intra-squad match in Southampton.

(READ: World Test Championship: Adding context to Test cricket)

Also in a first, the new ICC Test Championship will begin with the first Ashes Test at Edgbaston on August 1.

As per the ICC Test Championship, nine of the 12 Test countries (barring Ireland, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe) will contest six series across two years – three home, three away – in a league format which culminates in a final in June 2021.

England are ranked fourth in Tests and Australia are fifth.

In India, the Ashes will be broadcast on Sony Six and the SonyLIV app. You can also follow all the live Ashes cricket on CricketCountry here.


1st Test: August 1-5 at Edgbaston, Birmingham

2nd Test: August 14-18 at Lord’s, London

3rd Test: August 22-26 at Headingley, Leeds

4th Test: September 4-8 at Old Trafford, Manchester

5th Test: September 12-16 at The Oval, London