Australia elect to bat against India in first Test at Melbourne

Michael Clarke (second from left) spins the coin during the toss for the first Test match at Melbourne Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Melbourne: Dec 26, 2011

Australia captain Michael Clarke won the toss and elected to bat against India in the first Test match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Monday.

India have selected middle-order batsman Virat Kohli ahead of Rohit Sharma for the first of the four Test match against Australia. Left-arm pacer Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav form the Indian pace attack, while R Ashwin will be the specialist spinner.

Left-handed batsman Ed Cowan will make his Test debut for Australia, while Ben Hilfenhaus makes a comeback.


India: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni(c&wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Australia: David Warner, Ed Cowan, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke (c), Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (wk), Peter Siddle, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon, Ben Hilfenhaus.