Shane Watson in action © Getty Images
Shane Watson in action © Getty Images

Australia fought fire with fire against South Africa in the final Twenty20 International (T20I) of the three-match series and won the game by six wickets and four deliveries to spare at Cape Town on Wednesday. With this win, they have now claimed the series by 2-1 and gained solid momentum to go into the ICC World T20. Every Australian batsmen who got a chance to bat  stepped up and made substantial contributions to steer their side to a scintillating victory. Their openers came out all guns blazing while chasing a target of 179 against a good bowling attack like South Africa. They looked cautious in the start but shifted gears as soon as they got their eyes in. LIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: South Africa vs Australia, 3rd T20I at Cape Town

After winning the toss, South Africa elected to bat first and posted a massive total of 178 runs in their 20 overs. Hashim Amla scored a striking 97 runs and guided his side towards a decent total in their 20 overs. Adam Zampa did a commendable job with the ball as he gave away just 23 runs in his four overs on a pitch where runs were being scored heavily. LIVE CRICKET UPDATES: South Africa vs Australia, 3rd T20I at Cape Town

Australia had a mountain to climb and needed a good start from their openers which was rightly done by Usman Khawaja and Shae Watson. They accounted for 76 runs at the top inside nine over before both of them were sent back to the pavilion by Imran Tahir in the same over. Steve Smith and David Warner weathered the storm and sailed the Australian ship out from choppy waters. Smith showed his intentions right from the start and didn’t waste any time in getting runs for his side. warner too played a good hand with his 33 before getting run out.

Australia stumbled a bit in the end as they lost Smith and the match could have gone the other way, but Glenn Maxwell’s cameo of 19 from 10 deliveries sealed a thumping victory for Australia. Hashim Amla was awarded the Player of the Match award for his sizzling knock of 97 runs while David Warner was honoured with the Player of the Series Trophy.

Full Scorecard

Brief scores: 

South Africa 178 for 4 in 20 overs (Hashim Amla 97*; Nathan Coulter-Nile 2 for 36) lost to Australia 181 for 4 in 19.2 overs (Steve Smith 44, Shane Watson 42; Imran Tahir 2 for 38).