Australia win toss, elect to bat against Sri Lanka in first ODI match at Melbourne

George Bailey is the stand-in captain in absence of regular skipper Michael Clarke © Getty Images

Melbourne: Jan 11, 2013

Australia won the toss and elected to bat first against Sri Lanka in the first ODI match between the two at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday.

Australia plays a fresh new team, with only three players retained from the Test side for the ODI series.

George Bailey will be the leading the home side in the absence of regular captain Michael Clarke. Even Shane Watson and pacer James Pattinson has been left out due to injuries.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka have th upper hand against the Australians, as their side is far more experienced.


Australia: Phillip Hughes, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, George Bailey (c), David Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis. 

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the first ODI match between Australia and Sri Lanka here