Australian Cricket Awards: Glenn Maxwell named T20 Player of the Year
Glenn Maxwell 506 runs at 36.14 at a strike rate of 143.75 during the voting period. © Getty

The allrounder Glenn Maxwell has been voted Australia’s T20 Player of the Year at the 2019 Australian Cricket Awards, thus becoming the third to win the prize twice after Shane Watson in 2012, 2013 and 2017 and Aaron Finch in 2014 and 2018.

Maxwell played all 19 of Australia’s T20I matches during the voting period (January 9, 2018 to January 7, 2019) from which he scored 506 runs at a strike-rate of 143.75 and took nine wickets. (READ MORE: Marcus Stoinis named ODI Player of the Year)

Only Finch, with 531, and D’Arcy Short (515) scored more runs. (READ MORE: Nathan Lyon is Test Player of the Year)

Maxwell, who was previously crowed Australia’s T20 Player of the Year in 2015, polled 33 votes to beat Short (30 votes) and Andrew Tye (29 votes).

The awards – formerly known as the Allan Border Medal – honour the best of Australian cricketer each year.