Bangladesh became the fifth team in the history to lose three wickets with the team not even opening it's account © AFP (File Photo)
Bangladesh became the fifth team in the history to lose three wickets with the team not even opening it’s account © AFP (File Photo)

By Ayush Gupta

Oct 27, 2104

Bangladesh became a part of the world record which they never would have wanted to after succumbing down to three wickets without posting a single run on the scoreboard for the team at the beginning of the second innings against Zimbabwe in the first Test at the Shere-e-bangla stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.

Bangladesh, who were set a target of 101 lost three quick wicket without a single run on the board. Batsmen Tamim IqbalShamsur Rahman and Mominul Haque were dismissed for a duck each and kept the hope alive for Zimbabwe to clinch an enticing victory.

This has been the fifth instance when three batsmen have been dismissed for a team failing to get off the mark. Currently, Australia top the chart followed by India, Zimbabwe and Pakistan.

The table below shows the details of the top five instances when three wickets have been lost by a team failing to open the team account:

Team Against Venue Season Innings Batsmen How out Balls required Team total Result
Australia England The Gabba 1950-51 3rd Jack Moroney LBW b Trevor Bailey Unknown 32/7 decl Won
Arthur Morris c Trevor Bailey b Alec Bedser
Sam Loxton c Trevor Bailey b Alec Bedser
India England Headingley 1952 3rd Pankaj Roy c Denis Compton b Fred Trueman 20 165 Lost
Datta Gaekwad c Jim Laker b Alec Bedser
Madhav Mantri b Fred Trueman
Zimbabwe Sri Lanka Harare 1999-00 1st Trevor Gripper LBW b Nuwan Zoysa 9 174 Lost
Murray Goodwin c Romesh Kaluwitharana b Nuwan Zoysa
Neil Johnson LBW b Nuwan Zoysa
Pakistan India Karachi 2005-06 1st Salman Butt c Rahul Dravid b Irfan Pathan 6 245 Won
Younis Khan LBW b Irfran Pathan
Mohammad Yousuf b Irfan Pathan
Bangladesh Zimbabwe Dhaka 2014-15 4th Tamim Iqbal c Brendan Taylor b Elton Chigumbura 25 ? ?
Shamsur Rahman b Tinashe Panyangara
Mominul Haque c & b Tinashe Panyangara

However, it must be noted that India were reduced to 0 for 4 at Headingley. Vijay Manjrekar fell for a golden duck off Trueman the next ball. While Nuwan Zoysa and Irfan Pathan, both took a hat-trick in those hauls.

(Ayush Gupta is a reporter at CricketCountry. A passionate supporter of Manchester United, he idolises Roger Federer)