Bangladesh vs Afghanistan, BAN vs AFG Only Test, Day 2 LIVE streaming: Teams, time in IST and where to watch on TV and online in India
Asghar Afghan (left) and Rahmat Shah (AFP Photo)

Over 67: End of Day 2. Mosaddek Hossain and Taijul Islam have denied Afghanistan late in the day with their unbroken 48-run partnership. Bangladesh 194/8, trail by 148 runs

Over 59: Mosaddek Hossain is leading a late fightback. He’s batting on 31 and has Taijul Islam (4*) for company. Score 169/8

So after a brief rain delay, players are back on the field. Bangladesh 146/8, trail by 196 runs

Over 41.4: OUT! Mominul departs after 71-ball 52. Mohammed Nabi gets his second wicket as Bangladesh slide further. Score 131/7

Tea taken on Day 2 with Afghanistan are well and truly on top

Over 32.6: WICKET! Rashid Khan is on fire here as he lands another big blow in the space of three deliveries. A two-ball duck for Mushfiqur Rahm who has been given out caught after the dismissal was referred to the third umpire. Score 88/5

Over 32.4: BIG WICKET! Rashid Khan nets the big fish as Bangladesh lose their fourth wicket. Captain Shakib Al Hasan has been given lbw but he reviews. Ball-tracking confirms it would have hit the stumps. Score 88/4

Over 24.6: WICKET! Captain strikes in his first over and it’s Liton Das who walks back after being bowled on 33 off 66. He struck three fours and a six. Score 54/3

Over 19.4: WICKET! Mohammed Nabi strikes as he removes Soumya Sarkar in 17 after lunch. He has been given out lbw. Score 38/2

Over 4: So lunch has been taken on Day 2 with Bangladesh 1/1, trailing by 341 runs.

Live Scorecard | Live Commentary

Over 0.4: WICKET! Yamin Ahmadzai has struck in the first over and it’s Shadman Islam who has been out caught behind for a four-ball duck. Score 0/1, trail by 342 runs

Back for Bangladesh’s reply

Over 116.6: WICKET! Afghanistan 342-all out in their first innings. Captain Rashid Khan is the last man to be dismissed, caught and bowled by Mehidy Hasan. He scored 51 off 61.

Over 114.4: A maiden Test fifty for Afghanistan captain Rashid Khan, takes him just 48 deliveries to the landmark.

Over 112.5: WICKET! Afghanistan are nine wickets down now as Shakib Al Hasan as Yamin Ahmadzai caught at first slip for a duck. Score 327/9

Over 108.6: WICKET! First wicket of the match for Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan as he has Qais Ahmed caught at silly point on 9. Afghanistan have lost their eighth wicket. Score 322/8

Over 105.2: WICKET! Afghanistan have lost both their overnight batsmen to Taijul Islam. Afsar Zazai bowled on 41. Score 299/7

Over 99.6: WICKET! Afghar Afghan misses out on a maiden century by just eight runs. He gets a top-edge off Taijul Islam to be caught by Mushfiqur Rahim on 92. Score 278/6

Day 1 review

Batsman Rahmat Shah Thursday became the first Afghanistan cricketer to score a Test century, helping the minnows start strongly against Bangladesh on the opening day of the one-off match.

Shah made 102 and put on a crucial 120-run fourth-wicket stand with Asghar Afghan, batting on 88, to counter the Bangladesh spin attack at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong. Afghanistan were 271 for five at stumps with Afghan and Afsar Zazai, on 35, putting together a 74-run partnership in the final session of play.

But it was Shah and Afghan who ensured that Afghanistan fought their way back in to the contest after being in trouble at 77 for three at lunch. Taijul Islam and Nayeem Hasan took two wickets each to hurt Afghanistan after the tourists elected to bat first in just their third five-day game. The war-torn nation had a bruising introduction to Test cricket after India outplayed them inside two days in 2018.

Below are the details of how you can watch and follow the contest live

What: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan, Only Test, Day 2

When: September 6 (Friday)

Where: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram

Time: 9:30 am IST

On TV: Star Sports Network

Live streaming: Hotstar

Playing XIs

Bangladesh: Soumya Sarkar, Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan

Afghanistan: Ihsanullah Janat, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Afsar Zazai (wk), Rashid Khan (c), Yamin Ahmadzai, Qais Ahmad, Zahir Khan