Bangladesh currently are enjoying one of the peak periods as far as the team’s cricketing history is concerned © Getty Images
Bangladesh currently are enjoying one of their peak periods as far as the team’s cricketing history is concerned © Getty Images

Bangladesh start off their ICC World Twenty20 (T20) 2016 journey as they take on Netherlands in the third T20I of the tournament. It is match No. 3 of the First Round stage of the ICC mega event and the two Group A teams will play at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala. This will be the first match of the tournament for both the teams and both will be eager to win it to get a head start. The associate nations, distributed among two groups, need to play one match each with the other members of the group and the toppers of both the group will qualify for the Super 10 stage to take part in the main event. Live Cricket Score, Bangladesh vs Netherlands,  ICC World T20 2016 Round 1, Group A, Match 3 at Dharamsala

Bangladesh currently are enjoying one of the peak periods as far as the team’s cricketing history is concerned. The team has turned to one of the emergent powers ever since the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 where they had qualified till the quarter-final causing major upsets such as England’s exclusion from the Group Stage. The team afterwards went on to beat Pakistan, India, South Africa and Zimbabwe in home series and is considered to be one of the strongest sides of Asia currently. The team is equally balanced with a talented pace attack and batting line up. Apart from their regular big names like Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar, one player that came into limelight following his power-packed performance is Sabbir Rahman in the recently concluded Asia Cup 2016.

Considered as Bangladesh’s brilliant new find, Sabbir went on to become the highest scorer for his side in the Asia Cup and emerged as the second highest run-scorer of the series, leaving behind the likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, the star batsmen for India. Sabbir bagged the Man of the Tournament for display of his performance. Al-Amin Hossain is another name that the team would rely upon in the series. Al-Amin, after being sidelined for long, came back strongly as he proved to be the most successful bowler for the team in the Asia Cup 2016 bagging 11 wickets.

On the other hand, Netherlands are coming from two back to back defeats in T20I matches as they were defeated in the warm-up match of ICC World T20 2016 that they played. Their last victory came during their tour to United Arab Emirates (UAE) where they defeated the hosts. Most of the team’s score built up from the middle-order batsmen who seemed more comfortable playing spinners. This will help them in Indian conditions during the ICC World T20, but the batsmen struggle on a pacer-friendly Mohali pitch exposed their weakness and it will be an advantage for Bangladesh who rope on their pace strength. Performances that need special mention despite their loss are from Tom Cooper for his unbeaten 37-ball 50 and Vivian Kingma for his two wickets and clever run out. The consistent performers of the team are skipper Peter Borren and ‘keeper Wesley Barresi with bat and Mudassar Bukhari with the ball. It will be interesting to see how Netherlands, who earned a 84-run victory over a bowling-heavy UAE side on the flat tracks manage to cope with the stronger Bangladesh team.


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim(wk), Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed

Netherlands: Peter Borren(c), Ahsan Malik, Wesley Barresi(wk), Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Tom Cooper, Vivian Kingma, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Logan van Beek, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren

TIME:  (15:00 IST | 09:30 GMT)

(Paulami Chakraborty, a singer, dancer, artist, and photographer, loves the madness of cricket and writes about the game. She can be followed on Twitter at @Polotwitts)