Ross Taylor is currently the fourth-highest run-getter for New Zealand in ODIs © Getty Images (File Photo)
Ross Taylor is currently the fourth-highest run-getter for New Zealand in ODIs © Getty Images (File Photo)

Ross Taylor became the fourth New Zealand batsman to complete 5,000 One-Day International (ODI) runs when he reached a score of 37 off 53 balls during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Pool A match between New Zealand and Bangladesh at Hamilton on Friday. Taylor is also the fourth-in the list of highest run-getter of all time for New Zealand, which is topped by former skipper Stephen Fleming. Taylor is also the fastest to the milestone, completing it in 144 innings. Live Scorecard: Bangladesh vs New Zealand

Following is the list of top run-getters for New Zealand in ODIs:

Player R M R HS Ave 100s 50s
Stephen Fleming 8,007 279 8,007 134* 32.41 8 49
Nathan Astle 7,090 223 7,090 145* 34.92 16 41
Brendon McCullum 246 215 5,737 166 30.67 5 30
Ross Taylor 156 144 5,000* 131* 41.54 12 29

* denotes innings still in progress.

Bangladesh earlier finished on a score of 288 for the loss of seven wickets at the end of 50 overs, with Mahmudullah being the highlight of the innings with his second consecutive One-Day International (ODI) century. Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman too came in handy with the bat, with Sarkar scoring his maiden ODI fifty, sharing a 90-run stand with Mahmudullah for the third wicket to pull his side out of early trouble. Rahman scored a quickfire 40 off 23 balls, including five fours and two sixes. It was an off day for the New Zealand bowlers, with Corey Anderson emerging with the best figures, capturing two wickets for 43 runs in 10 overs. Live Updates: Bangladesh vs New Zealand

New Zealand earlier won the toss and elected to field. Both teams announced changes in their playing elevens, with the Kiwis opting to replace Adam Milne with Mitchell McClenaghan, who was yet to play a match in the ongoing competition. Bangladesh were without the services of skipper Mashrafe Mortaza, with Shakib Al Hasan taking up the responsibility of captaincy and Nasir Hossain filling in the void. Taijul Islam was the other player to fill in the void, coming in place of Arafat Sunny. ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Complete Coverage