New Zealand have been unbeaten so far in World T20 2016 © AFP
New Zealand have been unbeaten so far in World T20 2016 © AFP

Bangladesh and New Zealand face off in their final Group 2 fixture of ICC World T20 2016 at Kolkata on Saturday.  New Zealand are unbeaten so far in this World T20, having beaten the likes of India, Australia and Pakistan with an ease, Bangladesh have not had a happy World T20 who are yet to register a win. They produced wonderful displays to qualify for Super 10, they were humbled against Pakistan, came close against Australia and lost a shocking thriller to India by just one run. LIVE SCORECARD:New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 28th T20 Match, Super 10 Group 2

New Zealand have dominated the tournament thoroughly and keeping in mind that this is their first assignment post Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson has done an excellent job as McCullum successor so far. However, McCullum’s imprint is pretty much evident on this team, which continues to play his brand of aggressive cricket, thus taking his legacy forward. They had the character to leave their best bet in bowling—Trent Boult and Tim Southee—in the group stage and have successfully qualified for the semi-final, only because they showed immense faith in their new spinners, Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh will leave everything behind and take the New Zealand clash as a new match all together. Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan and Sabbir Rahaman have shown flashes of their brilliance and despite the suspension of their two in-form bowlers Taskin Ahmed and Arafat Sunny, Bangladesh have been resilient. If they want to challenge the top-ranked side in New Zealand, Bangladesh will have to keep calm and not let the game slip away due to excitement like they did against India in the final over.


Bangladesh: Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mustafizur Rahman, Shuvagata Hom, Saqlain Sajib.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Martin Guptill, Trent Boult, Nathan McCullum, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Grant Elliott, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee.

Bangladesh vs New Zealand, Live Cricket Score Updates & Ball by Ball commentary, T20 World Cup 2016: Match 28 at Kolkata